No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Five stars! This recipe turned out fantastic. I did make changes, but with using a cake mix, I think most probably will. I used almond extract in place of the lemon since I used milk chocolate cake mix. I used 2/3 buttermilk instead of water and 8 oz of fat free yogurt instead of sour cream. This recipe turned out very chocolately and tangy. VERY good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Just made this and it's pretty good. The only change I made was I substituted lemon juice for the water. This is not a pound cake, it is a dressed up boxed cake. I will make it again, just note for me, in my gas oven, the cooking time was 90 minutes and I could have left it in longer. But it is good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was a great recipe. I used it a few times as listed then used chocolate cake mix and the most recent time I made it I used gluten free cake mix and coconut flour and all purpose gluten free flour. Which turned out really great. I was very pleased. I as many of you am always very resistant to use mixes but I was impressed and it made gluten free baking so easy! Thanks for you great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a veiry good place to start if you are new to baking and still want something that has a 'from-scratch' flavor but you do not want the 'from-scratch' hassle. My only complain is that it is a tad bit dry, and you can even see that from the featured picture. Pound cakes should be more dense, and this one has a pretty good crumb to it. I think I would add an extra egg next time and maybe a full cup of liquid or a few Tbsp. of pudding mix. Overall it's a great place to start experimenting. It's very similar to the White Almond Sour Cream Cake that is very popular among cake decorators...combines box mix with scratch ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is not your dense pound cake but a good quick alternative. I made it for strawberry shortcake as my husband isn't a big fan of "shortcake". It was tasty and moist enough to eat alone. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this cake last night and my husband that is used to scratch cakes that I make said that this was an excellent faux pound cake. I rarely make boxed cakes so this was a first for me and it turned out great. I followed the recipe except instead of lemon extract I just doubled the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Anyone who rates this lower than a "4" must have done something wrong! This is so good! I made this for a wedding shower (with icing) and everyone who tried it said it was the best cake they had ever had. I normally don't even like pound cake or yellow cake at all but even I ate some of it. Amazing recipe! The only tip I have is DON'T try to double the recipe and use a stand mixer LoL because it will spill over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I used a little additional lemon and vanilla extract and what really made the difference for my husband (who absolutely loves this cake) was: instead of using flour when preparing the pan, i used confectioners' sugar. i used a small sifter and sifted it right into the greased pan. Gave the cake a delightful crustiness while the rest of the cake was very moist. Take it from my husband who has had a slice of "pounder" for about 30 years now - this cake is TOPS!!! (I've already made it many times!) Thank you so much for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Delicious!! Served with the Balsamic Strawberries from this site on top of the cake. The combination was incredible, but the cake on it's own is dense, moist and flavorable. I only have a 9 1/2 inch bundt pan so left a little bit of batter out. Took out of oven at exactly 60 minutes. Everybody loved it. My skinny 18 year old had five servings. Finally had to stop him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This cake was very tasty and had a wonderful soft moist texture but it was not a pound cake. It did not have the density, crumb or taste of traditional pound cake. If you want pound cake this is not the recipe but if you want something lighter and softer with the look of pound cake this is excellent. It could be the pound cake for people who don't like pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States