No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I found out about this website from a co-worker, and I just love it! My boyfriend requested a pound cake for his bithday. After a full day of work, this recipe was perfect! Quick, easy to follow and not a lot of ingredients. The cake was wonderful. It was very moist and more importantly, he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I am usually very skeptical of using cake mixes (okay, I'm a bit of a cake snob) but this worked very well. I notice that another reviewer kept saying she would omit the oil...what oil? I made it exactly as written, NOT making the cake according to the box, but dumping the mix in dry. I added two tsp. good vanilla, a tsp. almond extract and a tsp. of rum extract. After I turned the warm cake out on a rack to cool, I drizzled a light glaze made of confectioners' sugar, a little water and a tsp. each of vanilla, rum and almond extracts. My husband and father loved it, as did I. If I have to use cake mix I buy Duncan Hines ONLY...no other brand...ever. I used the Golden Butter Duncan Hines cake mix and this made up very well with my few tweaks. You don't need to cook it 60 minutes. I think 50- 55 tops would do it, although ovens do vary. This is a very good cake, especially with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made this cake to top with strawberries for strawberry shortcake. I did not have lemon extract so I used tsp of vanilla but that was the only change I made. We ate some the first day after it cooled and it was good but not really and dense as regular pound cake. The next day it had the perfect pound cake texture though! If possible make this a day ahead, it makes a big difference to let it sit a day. It was still great the same day for strawberry shortcake though. It did seem a tad sweet is my only complaint, I may cut the sugar in half next time. I think this recipe would be amazing if made with a lemon cake mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
THIS IS A WINNER..... IT NEVER FAILS.. MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY CRAVES AND LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply Divine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I agree this is not a pound cake, but I will say it makes one hell of a bundt cake! I tried this cake for Sunday dinner and it was a hit! This recipe is simple and you can make alterations without damaging the final product. I didn't have vanilla extract so I used double lemon extract. Next time I plan on adding more butter. TRY IT YOU"LL LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
excellent cake. I used almond extract, and would recommend even more like 2-3 TBSP of it, to bring the flavor to the forefront. I used a "castle" bundt cake, and I must have not pam-sprayed it enough, so it was broken, as I got the cake out of the pan. I patched it all together, using a glaze, and since it was for Easter, decorated it with Peeps, jelly beans, and green coconut, in the center. It was a hit!! Very moist, good cake. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is not a pound cake, the taste is similar but it is really a bundt cake- More dense than a layer/sheet cake. I made just 2 minor changes...1/3 c buttermilk in place of half the water, and I used almond extract and butter flavoring instead of the vanilla/lemon. I figure the cake is already vanilla flavored!! One hour in a tube/bundt pan and it came out wonderfully!!! MMmmmmmm!!! I served balsamic strawberries over it, but next time I think I will make a streusel layer in the middle with cinnamon, pecans and sugar, and glaze the top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
excellent every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Just got this beauty out of the oven . I spray all my pans with Pam. It baked in 1 hour . I made it right by the recipe , it's beautiful ! Have to wait till it cools before I cut it . I did get a taste off the edge, it's great . I'll use this recipe as my favorite. Thanks Patsy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a great basic recipe using a boxed cake mix. I used a German Chocolate cake mix and then added half a tub of German Chocolate frosting to the mix and it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States