No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I don't know what I did wrong but this cake didn't taste good at all, and it was crumbly. I normally use my own pound cake recipe, and everyone likes it. I took this to church and brought most of it home! Anyway, I guess I'll use it in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was very moist. I used almond extract instead of lemon and used a white cake mix instead of yellow! I cut up some fresh strawberries and it made a yummy strawberry shortcake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
The flavor of this cake is very good, however the texture is that of a boxed mix. For me a pound cake has a dense structure with very little crumb and that isn't the case with this recipe. I will make it again, but I won't advertise it as pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This cake is awsome, when my grandmother used to make pound cake she would dust the pan with powdered sugar instead of flour, it makes a nice sugary crust on the outside of the cake, no need for icing or glaze. I did it when I made this one and it was awsome, I have had countless requests for this recipe when I make it. It is very good with a Lemon Cake mix, lemon pudding and lemon extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This is the best cake. I've made it 4 times in 3 weeks, and I can't get enough of it. I have made it with lemon cake, golden butter yellow cake, and regular yellow cake. It is fabulous. I've even toyed with the extracts a little. It tastes better than my grandma's homemade, much to her dismay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Well received! Made 4 mini loaves with Betty Crocker butter cake mix, omitted the lemon extract. Served with a fresh strawberry topping. Great flavor, but would prefer my pound cake a little bit denser. Will Definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was by far the best pound cake I have ever made. I used almond extract instead of lemon(because I didn't have any lemon)and everyone loved it. We ate it with strawberry's and blueberry's. Then later we added ice cream with the fruit. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
One word...delicious. I brought to a bbq and everybody raved about this cake. Easy to make and mmmmmmm mmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deli Snow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I had this pound cake at a friend's house the other day and WOW was it delicious!!! We were all oohing and ahhing over how moist and delicious it was. And of course, everyone wanted the recipe! :) I like the fact that it saves a lot of steps & ingredients by adding a mix. It turned out as tasty as any I have had.I can't wait to make one of my own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
What an awesome cake! Had to use a lemon cake mix. Drizzled the finished cake with a lemon glaze. At a recent church fellowship, it disappeared before I could even sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States