No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CA cook
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made this cake with a DH Vanilla Mix. I added milk instead of water; replaced the lemon with almond extract and added a package of vanilla sugar. Since I do not have a bundt pan, I used two loaf pans. I split the dough evenly; I added a couple of tablespoons of Nutella to about 1 cup of the mix and swirled it into the batter in one of the loaf pans. Now I have one "white" cake and one "marbled." I tried a little piece and it tastes very nice. I baked them for about 55 minutes at 340.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I used this recipe for an Easter Lamb Mold Cake the best results in 30 years.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Add 2-3 tablespoons of poppy seeds. It is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I love this cake have made it several times! Today I had a bunch of blueberries to use...I followed the recipe but added zest of one lemon and the juice. I sprinkled wondra flour over the frozen berries and folded them in..made butter crumbs 2/3 cup each flour and sugar and three quarters stick of butter mix till crumbled..I put two thirds on the cake Before baking and after the cake is removed from pan sprinkle on remainder.out of this world. Berries do not sink..I wait till the next day before serving..but that is difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This cake was awesome! I really suck at making cakes, so if I can make this one anyone can! it had a lovely light lemon flavour, and nice moist texture. I did not have sour cream so I subbed 3/4 cup sour milk (milk with 1 Tbsp vinegar) and added 1/3 cup butter when creaming the butter and sugar. I served each slice with a generous amount of homemade strawberry rhubarb compote. the tartness of the compote really worked with the sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very easy,and super moist!! I used milk instead of water, just vanilla extract and a white cake mix. I baked it at 350 for 45 min and it came out perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
First pound cake I have ever made. It came out perfectly and was very tasty for a "cheater" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe many times using Duncan Hines Yellow butter recipe (16.5 oz). After adding the eggs to the butter and the sugar, let the mixture beat for 2 minutes. Then add the flavor, mix in. Then add the sour cream and water, mix in. Last, add in flour and cake mix. Mix well and beat for 2 minutes on medium. The batter will have the texture of a pound cake. It only takes 50 to 55 minutes to cook in an aluminum pan, slightly less time in a dark pan. Hope this helps those who did not have success the first time. This recipe also works well for layer and sheet cakes. I get rave reviews all the time and everyone thinks its made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I have made this 2 times and it was a hit both times I made it. One change for my oven, it only took 45 min. to cook, so watch this so it doesn't overbake. Easy and sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Tasted too much like a regular cake / not like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States