No Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just tried this recipe for my turkey pot pie. I had made a pie recently, and was very unhappy with how it turned out. So when I saw this pie crust recipe, I was hopeful. It turned out great! I cut in the butter (by hand) half a stick at a time (4 sticks is 2 cups). Then I added the liquid by thirds. It made it easier to incorporate all of the flour evenly. I let the dough rest in the fridge, covered, as a large ball. I split the dough into halves. The key to rolling this dough is keeping it cold, using lots of flour, and rotating. I was extremely happy! The dough was easy to keep in one piece, and did not crack. My pies were delicious AND pretty! The dough darkened on the edge, and was tender and flakey. Absolutely wonderful! Will be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
very good made more than i needed for he recipe i was doing know the next tme i use this recipe i will down size it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was a very easy recipe and it came out just as expected. I found the the amount of this recipe comfortably made enough crust for 2 chicken pot pies (double crusts) and for a pumpkin pie (no top crust) and a concord grape pie (no top crust). I think it would a bit tricky to spread this recipe out to 4 pies with all double crusts though. I also made it 50% whole wheat flour which I think came out extra well in the chicken pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I halved the recipe, because I was making just 24 mini tarts. I used only 3/4 cup of margarine, and I did as another reviewer suggested -- I went to just under the 4 oz line in a glass measuring cup with water, then added the egg and vinegar to that and whisked. I put the flour, salt, and butter/margarine in a food processor, then slowly added the egg/water/vinegar mixture, just a bit at a time and pulsed the processor. It came together very nicely. It did seem a bit sticky, so then I added a tablespoon more of flour, then another two tablespoons of flour, and then it was perfect. It came out easily in one ball, I wrapped it in plastic wrap and put it in the refrigerator. After a couple hours, I took it out, rolled it out easy as pie ;-) The tarts were delicious! I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Shrinks terribly, but flavor is there and very flakey, but will not stay up on the sides of the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've used this recipe for every pie I've baked the last 5 years. We absolutely love it! We've used it on about everything you can think of. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I am pie crust challenged..I have tried at least 8 other recipes and although they come out, they are hard to work with and I find myself disappointed at not "getting" it. I am not a quitter though, so I tried again this year and came across this recipe. I followed recipe exactly, but dough was very crumbly, so I did have to add more water, a little at a time, to get desired result. Wrapped it up and put in fridge. Rolled it out between lightly floured wax paper. I did not get it perfect yet, but it looked okay and baked up great. And it was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I grew up on this recipe -- my mother had worked in a bakery. We often used lard for savory especially or mixed lard and butter. After cutting in the butter/lard, place in refrigerator while prepping the next step. To make it easier, I put the vinegar and 1 tbsp ice water together, whisk in the egg, then finish up with more ice water to get 1/2 c total of the mixture. Seems to get the egg more incorporated. It is dry here, so I have to just carefully watch the amount of water used. The ice water helps keep the butter in little pieces. I've even made this 50/50 whole wheat and regular unbleached flour with tremendous success. This crust is so good that people always eat it!! no leaving crust on their plate. I give the finished portioned dough at least 2 hours in the fridge in order to make sure any possible gluten strands relax. Keep bench flour handy for rolling out (bench, hands, pin). I've made this since an early teen. And, trick for the top on the upper crust: spread milk on it just to lightly moisten. If a sweet pie, sprinkle lightly all over the top crust with some granulated sugar. The crust becomes absolutely gorgeous with that bakery tip!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have never attempted pie crusts before and had my backup Pillsbury pie crusts in the fridge, but there they will stay as this was incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
the crust was very difficult to work with after refrigeration. The taste was fine, but a little tangy. It didn't work very well as a base for a pecan cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States