No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I bake pies weekly for a group of veterans, and I was curious about this crust. I have always made pie crust with just lard, flour, salt and water, like my mom did, so I tried this one day. The crust was a dream to roll out, but I was skeptical as to how much shrinkage there would be because the crust was so light and delicate. Well, I decided to bake two pie shells to see what happens. What happened was that I was pleasantly surprised. Wonderful tender, flaky crust and not much shrinkage at all. My guys said I outdid myself that week, so I guess this will become my crust of choice. Sorry mom! Hint: Shortening and butter are good for crusts, but lard can't be beat. And a little trick for those having tear problems. When you get the dough rolled to the desired thickness, lay your rolling pin on the edge of the dough farthest from you. Using a tender touch, roll the dough up over your rolling pin, then using your hands, not the handles, GENTLY roll the pin towards you rolling the dough over the pin. Put your pie pan directly behind the dough covered pin, and using both hands lift the pin and dough onto your pan, then roll away from you. Your dough will go into your pan beautifully, and your top crust will set perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is the best recipe ever... it is the same one my grandma used to use and I was so glad I found it here! It rolls out beautifully and is almost impossible to goof up! The crust is extremely tender & flaky... many have raved over this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
My grandma always told me practice makes perfect when it comes to most things especially pie crust, but I could not master a good pie crust, so it seemed. I doubled this recipe and made 3 pies over 4th of July and everyone raved about the pies and especially the crust! Tender and very flaky, they melt in your mouth. Thank you! I had plenty of dough left over to cut into strips and some I salted the others I put cinnamon and sugar on and baked to perfection! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This was my first attempt at a home made crust. Thank you Molly. I used Crisco's butter flavored shortening for the lard. ~kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I doubled this recipe and made several pies for a meeting I had. This was my FIRST TIME making pie crusts and it turned out wonderfully. No fail, even for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Do NOT substitute anything in this recipe, it's perfect as is! This is the crust my Mom was famous for...I knew it the second I tasted it. I haven't made a pie in years, and for me it is difficult to work with pie crusts anyway, especially one so flaky. If you are having problems with it tearing like I was, roll it out on a piece of wax paper...it helps with handling. This is the flakiest, melt in your mouth pie crust ever...even if my meringue didn't turn out, at least my crust did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
My Sister-in-law gave me this recipe about a year ago.It always turns out. I make it often for Chicken Pot Pie, my family fights over the corner pieces so they can have the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I'm not sure why mine was so different. I've never had a problem with a crust, but I haven't found a recipe I love either. This one though, was by far the worst for me. It was entirely too mushy. I ended up adding another 1/2 cup to a full cup afterward just to make it hold. Also quite a bit of shrinkage and there was something very unpleasant for me about the scent of the lard, which remained slightly even after baking. Not a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The KING of crusts, the good old fashioned way. I divided and used one crust right away. The rest I rolled out between wax paper then rolled up in the wax paper and wrapped in plastic. Those I slid into cut to size cardboard rolls from wrapping paper which then were wrapped in foil and tossed in the freezer. I don't much like making crusts so making a bunch at once is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
OK... to start, the reviews that claimed the crusts didn't turn out right was not this recipes fault!! They done something wrong! I've never made a pie crust in my 42 yrs on this earth - this was my first. On top of that, I lost my right hand a year and a half ago so now I'm a one handed pie maker. One word describes this crust. Amazing! Trust me, if a one handed pie maker has amazing results, go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madbradb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States