No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I've always made this crust - it's also my mom's recipe with the exception of the baking powder - I'm going to give it a shot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
flaky pie crust very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The KING of crusts, the good old fashioned way. I divided and used one crust right away. The rest I rolled out between wax paper then rolled up in the wax paper and wrapped in plastic. Those I slid into cut to size cardboard rolls from wrapping paper which then were wrapped in foil and tossed in the freezer. I don't much like making crusts so making a bunch at once is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
When I saw this recipe, I was thinking, "An egg? Baking powder? This is going to be weird." Still, I could tell it was a recipe with a lot of thought put into it and so I gave it a try. It turned out wonderfully well. Even after I was sure I'd overhandled it, it was tender and flaky and delicious. This will be my pie crust recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMichal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I've used this recipe for several pies now and will probably use it for life. It truly is no fail and is just as good thawed as fresh. We don't do lard (pork) so I used vegetable shortening and it worked great. One minor complaint: it was a little salty with a very sweet butterscotch pie, but was perfect with apple pie. As a top crust it was wonderfully thick and flaky. I love recipes like this that make us novices feel like the pros!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I wouldn't even give this recipe a star but I couldn't go on without choosing one. This is without a doubt the WORST pie crust I have ever made. I always use lard for my pie crusts as well as flour, salt and ice water. It had been a long time since I had baked a pie and I couldn't find my recipe and couldn't remember the ingredient amounts for sure. So, I Googled "pie Crust" and I found this one. All the reviews but one was 5-star so, even that one bad review didn't deter me. The ONLY review that was spot on was the one bad review. First of all, I couldn't get it to stay together when I rolled it out and had to do a lot of "piecing". I finally got it rolled out and when rolling it onto my rolling pin like I always had done in the past with my own recipe, it continued to fall apart. I finally got it into the pie tin and managed to flute the edges (while doing so it constantly came apart. I made a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, not exactly brain science. Everything looked good but the crust was very fragile. A piece of edge broke off so I tasted it. It tasted like there was no salt but I distinctly remembered adding the salt. It left a bad taste in my mouth and I decided it was from the vinegar. I asked my guests to critique the pie and it was unanimous: the crust was terrible. There were comments like: "the filling is fantastic", "It's OK, I'll just eat the filling", and "It leaves a funny, tinny taste in my mouth". Needless to say this recipe is NOT a keeper. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is my 2nd attempt at actually making a pie crust and it was great. I specially searched for one using lard because older ladies said using lard made it flakier and, boy, were they right! It was also easy to roll out. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ethel, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Crust had good flavour but completely fell apart. I was able to make a crust by piecing bits of it together, but it would not have worked with a wet filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Thank you for this recipe! I'd gotten to the point that I thought I'd never master pie crust. But now, I can bake a tender crust -whoo hoo! One point I already know is this: keep the dough chilled when working with it. I ended up using a chilled cookie sheet to help cool it down when rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
My Sister-in-law gave me this recipe about a year ago.It always turns out. I make it often for Chicken Pot Pie, my family fights over the corner pieces so they can have the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States