No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I have been using this recipe for 35 years and am famous for my pies. And this dough is easy to handle, and you can re-roll it if necessary. I couldn't make a good pie crust to save my life until I got this recipe. If you prefer vegetable shortning, just use a little more than the lard called for. Lard is more "short' than vegetable shortning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is a nice basic crust recipe. The vinegar makes is nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
my pies are always appreciated at family gatherings, but this time the crust got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I'm pleased with the results of the pie dough if I were using it for a pot pie, but it tastes a little too salty for a fruit pie. Next time I'll reduce salt by 1 tsp and maybe replace it with a tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
by far the best crust i have ever made! my dad was always the king of crusts and trying his recipe ..just didnt work out. i thought i would try this since so many people saved and im so happy i did!! (of course i needed by dad to roll it out for me but i got it down now) thank you so much for this is TRULY a no fail crust. i was skeptical about the lard but there was no way i was buying shortening and so glad i bought it. flaky and absolutely delicious!! do not substitute a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephanie
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Used this crust for a pot pie and it was wonderful. I didn't have enough all-purpose flour so I substituted with self-rising flour; omitting the baking powder and salt. It was perfect! I used my mixer for the flour and lard then used the dough hook once I added the liquid ingredients. I then chilled my dough ball for a few hours until I was ready to use. It was incredibly easy to work with and didn't tear. This will now be my go-to crust for just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Best and easiest pie crust ever! I had this recipe years ago and misplaced it.....found it on Allrecipes.com just in time for Thanksgiving pecan pies! (I do add 1 Tbsp. of sugar with the dry ingred.) Tender, flaky, easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Alrighty, a quick confession- I have never, never made a decent pie crust, ever, professionally OR at home. My pastry typically resembles something one would find on an archaelogical dig. Until now! This recipe was easy, fast, and saves well- I turned out a lovely pecan pie and a wonderful coconut pie, both with the BEST crust I've ever made, using this recipe. It's flaky, flavorful, holds up to the fillings- in a word, perfect! Thank you for sharing this one, Molly- my family thanks you, too! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow!! This was the BEST crust I have ever made in my life!! I finally found a crust recipe. This was tender, tastey, and flaked nicely. I used it for the Turkey Pot Pie II recipe. The whole meal was spectacular! Thanks so much Molly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Love the crust! I have a hard time making crust, but this one was easy to make, very easy to work with and tasted great! I did make one change...I used lemon jucie instead This will be my No Fail Piecrust from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States