No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
by far the best crust i have ever made! my dad was always the king of crusts and trying his recipe ..just didnt work out. i thought i would try this since so many people saved and im so happy i did!! (of course i needed by dad to roll it out for me but i got it down now) thank you so much for this is TRULY a no fail crust. i was skeptical about the lard but there was no way i was buying shortening and so glad i bought it. flaky and absolutely delicious!! do not substitute a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephanie
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Used this crust for a pot pie and it was wonderful. I didn't have enough all-purpose flour so I substituted with self-rising flour; omitting the baking powder and salt. It was perfect! I used my mixer for the flour and lard then used the dough hook once I added the liquid ingredients. I then chilled my dough ball for a few hours until I was ready to use. It was incredibly easy to work with and didn't tear. This will now be my go-to crust for just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Best and easiest pie crust ever! I had this recipe years ago and misplaced it.....found it on Allrecipes.com just in time for Thanksgiving pecan pies! (I do add 1 Tbsp. of sugar with the dry ingred.) Tender, flaky, easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Alrighty, a quick confession- I have never, never made a decent pie crust, ever, professionally OR at home. My pastry typically resembles something one would find on an archaelogical dig. Until now! This recipe was easy, fast, and saves well- I turned out a lovely pecan pie and a wonderful coconut pie, both with the BEST crust I've ever made, using this recipe. It's flaky, flavorful, holds up to the fillings- in a word, perfect! Thank you for sharing this one, Molly- my family thanks you, too! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow!! This was the BEST crust I have ever made in my life!! I finally found a crust recipe. This was tender, tastey, and flaked nicely. I used it for the Turkey Pot Pie II recipe. The whole meal was spectacular! Thanks so much Molly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Love the crust! I have a hard time making crust, but this one was easy to make, very easy to work with and tasted great! I did make one change...I used lemon jucie instead This will be my No Fail Piecrust from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I've always made this crust - it's also my mom's recipe with the exception of the baking powder - I'm going to give it a shot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
flaky pie crust very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The KING of crusts, the good old fashioned way. I divided and used one crust right away. The rest I rolled out between wax paper then rolled up in the wax paper and wrapped in plastic. Those I slid into cut to size cardboard rolls from wrapping paper which then were wrapped in foil and tossed in the freezer. I don't much like making crusts so making a bunch at once is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
When I saw this recipe, I was thinking, "An egg? Baking powder? This is going to be weird." Still, I could tell it was a recipe with a lot of thought put into it and so I gave it a try. It turned out wonderfully well. Even after I was sure I'd overhandled it, it was tender and flaky and delicious. This will be my pie crust recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMichal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States