No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I got tired of paying about $2.00 for 2 pie shells at a pop. I made these for my turkey pot pie and I must have rolled them out pretty thin because I had extra left over. So, I put it in the fridge and used it the next day for pecan pie. I couldn't roll it out so I added a little water and worked it with my hands. After that, it rolled out beautifully :) All 3 pies came out perfect - I'll definitely be using this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made my 1st crust today and it was just perfect! Just the right amount of flakiness for me and tender. I used 3 cups flour, 1 tsp salt and salted butter instead of lard since I did not have any on hand. This made two crusts. After forming the 2 balls I popped it into the freezer for 30 mins and it rolled out like a breeze. Placed it on the tray then back into the fridge to chill for 30 minutes while I made the topping which was pumpkin pie. Am so pleased with myself! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAmMinion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had to substitute the lard with margerine, only because i didn't have any lard! Loved the recipe and plan on using it again as well as sharing. Was simple and rolled out really nice! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Michel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I loved the way it held together as I rolled it out, cut it and did the lattice-work. The only thing I did differently was brushed the crust with egg and sprinkled a little cinnamon and sugar on top, which is just personal preference. This crust was beautifully flaky and light and complemented the blueberry filling wonderfully! I will gladly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a great recipe. I put everything in my Kitchenaid mixer with the dough attachment, took it out, separated it into 4 balls as the recipe suggested, used two and froze two. Made a turkey pot pie that I found on here, it was wonderful! Thanks for a great pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowcountryJudi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Look no further. This pie crust is the best ever! Shared this one with my daughter. Thank you for sharing your recipe. A wonderful flaky crust. Made without changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My crust looks absolutely beautiful. It is flaky and tender. I did reduce the salt to 1 tsp and I added 2 1/2 tsp of sugar. I always make sure my water is ice cold when I pour it into the mixture. This is definitely a keeper! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I just doubled this recipe and made 8 pie crusts. I didn't have lard so I used part shortening and part butter. They rolled out nicely. I rolled out 6 of them and put in foil pie plates, then I left 2 in flattened balls to use as top crusts when I need a double crust. I wrapped them up tightly in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer. All set to make pies for Thanksgiving next week! And I'll have a couple crusts left over for other occasions. I haven't baked one yet but they made pretty crusts and the raw dough tasted good. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Love this recipe!! Haven't made my own pie crusts for years but just rendered out a bunch of lard so tried this recipe. It was so easy to handle. Have pumpkin (carrot) pies in the oven right now and they smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
messed up and only added 2 cups of flour- it turns into cookie dough, makes an interesting queche!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garrison, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States