No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This is my go to pie crust recipe. Fast and convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have never made pastry before, and although I found it hard to work with it was delicious. I love a flaky salty pastry with a sweet pie, and I adapted 'Grandma Oples' apple pie to become 'salted caramel apple pie' SOOOO good! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Very easy to make, roll out. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This recipe produced a very nice pastry. It was extremely easy to work with and the pastry turned out wonderfully light and flaky. My only complaint, and the reason I only gave 4 stars instead of 5, is that it is quite salty with the 2 teaspoons of salt - might work well for a crust for a savory pot pie or something but not so great for a sweet fruit pie. Next time, I plan to reduce the salt by about half but otherwise, I don't plan on changing anything. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Amazing crust, easy to make, use, and delicious. I will never make crust with butter again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this pie crust recipe and loved it I can't stand to eat a pie with tough crust, but this one was flakey and tasty. I was warned by the person who gave me the recipe that it will be wet or sticky and won't look like it can be rolled out, but as you roll it out, just keep adding flour to the board so it doesn't stick. (don't add flour to the mixture) It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The best ever crust. This is the only crust recipe I will ever use! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constance sword
Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Browning, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have been making pies for 39 years. This is the easiest recipe that I have ever found. Turns out perfect every time. Light, Flaky, and delicious. I can usually get 5 crusts out of a batch of this recipe. I roll mine on the thin side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made Blackberry pie with a double crust for my co-workers. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut the recipe in half...took two balls and flattened them in plastic wrap, and chilled them for a while, then rolled them out on a pastry cloth with rolling pin covered with cloth. No problems whatsoever. I got so many compliments on the crust. I will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This is my favorite pie crust recipe and it has never let me down. I do not understand why others have had problems handling it. Maybe because they did things at room temp. I always roll my dough into crust size balls and refrigerate for a while before rolling it out. If you use either waxed paper or plastic wrap (what I prefer) and place your ball of dough between two sheets of it and then roll it out with a rolling pin you should have no problem. Also no mess is created this way as everything is between the two sheets of paper. Once it is rolled out just remove the paper from one side and place it face down on your greased pie plate. Then remove the top paper once that is placed properly. Do the same with the top once the filling is in your pie and the handling problems should all be taken care of. Hopefully this hint helps some who have had problems handling this recipe as it is so tender and flakey---would be a shame not to make it again. Also the lard is what makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States