No Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Agree with the reviewers who found this VERY difficult to work with. Fell apart completely. But still gets 3 stars because it tasted good and was flaky and tender as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I love recipes that I can assault the kitchen aid with only to have it come out tasting like I worked my fingers to the bones and so yummy. I did bake the shells at 425 for 20 minutes until golden brown. I would like for the insructions to include baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is an awesome, easy recipe for a no fail pie crust. It even freezes and unfreezes well. I would add that I would NOT use this recipe for a dessert pie as is isn't light nor sweet enough. However, it is absolutely perfect for meat pies and maybe even sweet potato or pumpkin pies. If you use shortening instead of lard, use a smidgen more. Butter flavor Crisco is great for chicken pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Had my hubby make it and it turned out amazing. Did blueberry pie first (used 1 tsp salt and some brown sugar), doing turkey pie tonight and expect the same results. Try it, you will be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This is my go to pie crust recipe. Fast and convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have never made pastry before, and although I found it hard to work with it was delicious. I love a flaky salty pastry with a sweet pie, and I adapted 'Grandma Oples' apple pie to become 'salted caramel apple pie' SOOOO good! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Very easy to make, roll out. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This recipe produced a very nice pastry. It was extremely easy to work with and the pastry turned out wonderfully light and flaky. My only complaint, and the reason I only gave 4 stars instead of 5, is that it is quite salty with the 2 teaspoons of salt - might work well for a crust for a savory pot pie or something but not so great for a sweet fruit pie. Next time, I plan to reduce the salt by about half but otherwise, I don't plan on changing anything. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Amazing crust, easy to make, use, and delicious. I will never make crust with butter again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this pie crust recipe and loved it I can't stand to eat a pie with tough crust, but this one was flakey and tasty. I was warned by the person who gave me the recipe that it will be wet or sticky and won't look like it can be rolled out, but as you roll it out, just keep adding flour to the board so it doesn't stick. (don't add flour to the mixture) It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States