No Fail Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Butter flavor Crisco and more salt, like others said. Other than that, don't change a thing for the best pie crust recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by dorothy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Wonderful! The only change I made was to cook them in a muffin tin I sprayed with nonstick cooking oliv oil as someone else had done! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I am a novice baker and frankly mildly intimidated by some of the baking recipes I see but this was so simple! It turns out really great every single time. Now, if only I could learn to make a proper lattice, I would be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this yesterday and WOW! I used this to make apple strudel, the crust is flakey and has a good flavor, no gooey bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is exactly the recipe my grandma & great grandma used and is the BEST pie crust I have ever made. Has NEVER let me down and is SO flaky, light and flavorful you will never need another. Lard works as well as shortening. May substitute butter flavored shortening depending on what the crust is used for. Especially good with pot pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I have made this crust twice following the recipe exactly. The crust rolls out nicely and was good although the edges were not flaky; they were a bit hard. Both times I had trouble incorporating all the dry ingredients and had to stir and work the dough a lot. I think this may be why the crust was hard. I would suggest adding a bit more water - maybe use 1/3 cup or possibly more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is my new favorite crust recipe! It makes a perfect, flaky crust that get many great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was so flakey! I used half butter and half shortening, and upped the salt to almost a teaspoon. I agree with other reviews that it was lacking in flavor, however, I followed one suggestion to use vodka instead of the vinegar, and that may be the flavor difference. I will try again with the vinegar, because it was out of this world flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have never made a pie crust before. I followed this recipe and my first attempt was stellar. Easily made by hand and the result is a wonderfully flaky crust. I cut a few tsps of butter into the shortening, not sure what effect that had. As a novice baker, I was very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is a great pie crust. Easy to work with and a nice taste. Came out beautiful and I am a novice pie baker. Husband Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States