No Fail Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great taste. I used soy milk instead of the evaporated milk, and changed the 2 1/2 cups sugar to 2 cups sugar and 1/4 cup pear butter, because I thought that the sugar amount was more than I wanted to deal with! The amount of filling was enough for 2 pies rather than one with a top crust! I baked the pies at 350 for 1 hr. 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Timyo --- you asked >>> Should I use a different bean >> I wonder if folding the eggs into the batter would make it creamier?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
thank u for this receipe..i always wanted this bean pie receipe for long time...its so easy and it so yummy ..i ate this pie with whip cream topping and its turn so yummy for desert....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fantastic! And very easy! I will make this for Ramadan this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I grew up eating and loving bean pies, so it's great to finally have a recipe. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the sugar to 2 cups instead of 2 1/2. I didn't have a food processor so I put the ingredients in a blender instead. The tops of both of my pie crusts burned a little bit, so when I try this again, I think I will follow the advice of a couple other reviewers and bake at 350 for an 1:10. My pies didn't have the deep, dark color that I was expecting (they were light tan). However, the taste was still good. The secret, I found, was letting the pies refrigerate overnight. By the next day, their color had deepened AND the flavors seemed even richer and tastier than they'd been the day before. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! It's definitely going to become a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I've always wanted to make Bean Pies for my family and your recipe made it possible. It was quick and easy. However I didn't use as much sugar the 2nd time I made them but they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
these pies came out wonderfully! i substituted the white sugar for brown and it still came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Great pie! I randomly tried making this after browsing for a 5 star recipe that was different from anything else I'd ever made and was very impressed with it! It's quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My two pies came out great. I was unable to find canned navy beans so I went ahead and brought a bag of navy beans and cooked them. This recipe was one point!..I love it. thanx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Nice pie. Not to be nit-picky, but this is a traditional African-American muslim bean pie. I would substitute a homemade crust for the ready-made crust to keep with the tradition and roots of this dish. An additional of brown sugar with the white sugar would result in a richer, darker color and taste. Additionally, make sure to use a vanilla extract that does not contain alcohol! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drachen Andariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States