No Fail Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fantastic! And very easy! I will make this for Ramadan this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great taste. I used soy milk instead of the evaporated milk, and changed the 2 1/2 cups sugar to 2 cups sugar and 1/4 cup pear butter, because I thought that the sugar amount was more than I wanted to deal with! The amount of filling was enough for 2 pies rather than one with a top crust! I baked the pies at 350 for 1 hr. 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Timyo --- you asked >>> Should I use a different bean >> I wonder if folding the eggs into the batter would make it creamier?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I've always wanted to make Bean Pies for my family and your recipe made it possible. It was quick and easy. However I didn't use as much sugar the 2nd time I made them but they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
thank u for this receipe..i always wanted this bean pie receipe for long time...its so easy and it so yummy ..i ate this pie with whip cream topping and its turn so yummy for desert....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
these pies came out wonderfully! i substituted the white sugar for brown and it still came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My two pies came out great. I was unable to find canned navy beans so I went ahead and brought a bag of navy beans and cooked them. This recipe was one point!..I love it. thanx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Great pie! I randomly tried making this after browsing for a 5 star recipe that was different from anything else I'd ever made and was very impressed with it! It's quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I didn't find any canned navy beans so I used black beans and it still was great! I followed the directions and cooked it at 450 for 15 then cut back to 350 for 35 and I don't like the way it browns the top. The 2nd time I tried this, I used navy beans soaked overnight - but they were still too hard and the pie had great flavor, but not the right consistency. My 3rd try, I will find the canned navy (somewhere) and cook for 350 at 1 hr 10 min (as suggested by another member) and I'll let you know how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I like that this recipe was very easy ( aside from soaking andcooking beans). It tasted ok,a bit beany but I should have expected that.I likedthat I didn't have to dirty a bowl. Next time I make this, I may add more evaporated milk and turn th heat down. My crust edges burned and the pie was a little dry or not. I've never had bean pie so I d on't know what it should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States