No Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This was delicious! I didn't have the 90 mins. it calls for to bake, so I cheated and precooked the potatoes a little in the microwave (slice them first). I also cut the amount of onion to a 1/2 an onion as my family isn't big into onions. I did squeeze a garlic clove into the butter/onion mix to add a bit more flavor. This does take a bit of assembly, but is so delicious and easy. And I love that it only called for regular ingredients that anyone would have on hand (if they are trying to find a recipe to use ground lamb). My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This recipe is more along the lines of Bulgarian Moussaka. There are many countries with their own version, not just Greeks! Bulgarians use potatoes instead of eggplant. If you like the Greek seasoning try adding a touch of allspice to the white sauce. I also used parmesan instead of cheddar.MMM! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This dish came out really good. Didn't have any eggplant, so I doubled up on the potato. Will make again with eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this recipe as we are not fans of eggplant. I omitted the potatoes for a low carb diet and used sliced portabella mushrooms on the bottom then lengthwise slices of zucchini, then the meat sauce, then the cheese. The spices were smelling wonderful as it was in the oven. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
My family loved it, I did pre-cook the potatoes to save time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nothyme2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This tasted great! I already had all of the ingredients at hand so this was a very convenient recipe. It did take quite a bit of effort to prepare but I was happy with the results. I agree that it did seem a little dry (mainly because of the potatoes) but it was nice so I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Really liked this preparation with potatoes rather than eggplant. Traditional eggplant retains the salt after slicing and soaking so this is a great way to lower the sodium content. Would rather go back to traditional Parm cheese however in the sauce to make the topping less noticible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Thanks for posting this...I hate to be one of the reviewers who changes everything and then gives a thumbs up but I just had to add 1 eggplant which I sliced and grilled/broiled with a little olive oil before adding! I used only 1 lb of lamb and 2 potatoes (which I sliced raw and pre-cooked), 1/2 of a 32 oz can of tomatoes. In the sauce I used mixed 3/4 cup 1% miilk and 3/4 cup non-fat half and half (to get richness without cholesterol) and sprinkled some ground nutmeg in. Because of pre-cooking the veggies, it only needed 30 minutes uncovered at 375. It turned out yummy, even though I forgot garlic! Next time I would drain the tomatoes before adding because it was a bit soggy. And maybe add some feta cheese on top of the meat mixture layer. Tip: Make sure you really drain all the fat and liquid after sauteing the lamb and onion, otherwise it would be too fatty and wet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
MMMM!! This recipe looked perfect for the ingredients I had on hand, and the fact that I lacked eggplant for regular Moussaka. I cut the recipe in half except for the sauce and the tomoato mixture. For the tomato mix I used one can of Italian stewed tomatoes and 1/2 can of tomato sauce. Since I only used two potatoes, the cooking time was cut down by about 45 min. Will make again. Thanks for the great recipe Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States