No Eggplant Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this recipe as we are not fans of eggplant. I omitted the potatoes for a low carb diet and used sliced portabella mushrooms on the bottom then lengthwise slices of zucchini, then the meat sauce, then the cheese. The spices were smelling wonderful as it was in the oven. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
it's more like a sheppard's pie...i miss the eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Thanks for posting this...I hate to be one of the reviewers who changes everything and then gives a thumbs up but I just had to add 1 eggplant which I sliced and grilled/broiled with a little olive oil before adding! I used only 1 lb of lamb and 2 potatoes (which I sliced raw and pre-cooked), 1/2 of a 32 oz can of tomatoes. In the sauce I used mixed 3/4 cup 1% miilk and 3/4 cup non-fat half and half (to get richness without cholesterol) and sprinkled some ground nutmeg in. Because of pre-cooking the veggies, it only needed 30 minutes uncovered at 375. It turned out yummy, even though I forgot garlic! Next time I would drain the tomatoes before adding because it was a bit soggy. And maybe add some feta cheese on top of the meat mixture layer. Tip: Make sure you really drain all the fat and liquid after sauteing the lamb and onion, otherwise it would be too fatty and wet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This has potential, but it is bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The sauce on top is good however the rest is so bland. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband said this did not taste like traditional Greek moussaka, but it was still very good. Our daughter and I agreed. We used ground turkey instead of lamb. It was very tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NV4X4GAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
My family loved it, I did pre-cook the potatoes to save time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nothyme2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This dish came out really good. Didn't have any eggplant, so I doubled up on the potato. Will make again with eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This recipe is more along the lines of Bulgarian Moussaka. There are many countries with their own version, not just Greeks! Bulgarians use potatoes instead of eggplant. If you like the Greek seasoning try adding a touch of allspice to the white sauce. I also used parmesan instead of cheddar.MMM! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Really liked this preparation with potatoes rather than eggplant. Traditional eggplant retains the salt after slicing and soaking so this is a great way to lower the sodium content. Would rather go back to traditional Parm cheese however in the sauce to make the topping less noticible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States