No Crust Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Mixed reviews on this one from our house. We liked it, but didn't love it. The texture is very different, and I think it stems from the pudding and gelatin being mixed together. It was sort of refreshing, and not many calories, but I need to play around with this recipe while the strawberries are still available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
The reviews were all over the place on this recipe, but I thought since we like sugar-free jello and pudding, I'd give it a try. I didn't notice until I was ready to mix this up that it called for the large packages. Since I only had the small, I just halved the recipe and poured it into two 4-1/2" shallow ramekins to chill. I think the texture of the pudding-jello mixture is just weird and simply not eye-appealing. The taste is OK (with vanilla pudding dominating), but I'd rather have had fresh strawberries with EITHER pudding or jello, but not these two combined. Sorry, this one just didn't measure up for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I tried this once before, following the reviews that said to put in the pudding after and the strawberries with the water . . .okay, that so did not turn out--it tasted good but never gelled and was really hard to mix togther, so I tried this again, following the directions. I used frozen strawberries and didn't have quite enough, so I cut up a banana and put it on the bottom, then added the strawberries. I thought I had the correct pudding called for so used it, but it was for half the box amount called for. I added a splash of vanilla, stirred everything until it dissolved, poured it over the bananas and strawberries, and refrigerated it. Yes, very simple, but I didn't think it was bad at all, and bf clearly thought it was awesome bc he came home, saw it in the fridge and promptly had 3 servings. He had two more tonight and finished it off! Luckily I got a few servings in myself; clearly, if it had been up to him, he would have eaten it all. I guess I'll have to get more pudding and make him some more. For those of you who are worried about the taste from the sugar free stuff; maybe try half sugar free and half not--I can't imagine it would make it awful that way, and the vanilla did seem to add a nice touch. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. Won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
wasn't bad. i added some bananas. they were good in it but the next day they turned brown and mushy so. its a pretty pie and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Great recipe, my whole family enjoyed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I didn't use sugar-free pudding and gelatin because it sounded like that would not be good. While trying to boil the mixes and water, it began to cook to the edges of the pan, so there was no way to get it to a full boil because I had to constantly stir it. Once it was set, the "pie" would not slice and be set onto a plate the way it looks in the picture. I think the only way that could be accomplished is if it was frozen solid. This is a mushy, messy dessert that falls to pieces even when you try to spoon it out of the dish. And as if the presentation wasn't bad enough, it tastes bland and has a bitter aftertaste. I'll never waste strawberries on something like this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Used a graham cracker crust and banana pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I am always looking for sugar free desserts, so when I had this pie at a local diner I had to ask for the recipe. The recipe is almost the same as this one, except that the diner's recipe called for 2-1/2 C water and 4 C strawberries. I think its very good. I would never have guessed it was sugar free. I topped with homemade whipped cream sweetened with splenda. The diner put theirs in a crust and topped with sugar free non-dairy topping. Its light and refreshing and hits the spot without a lot of calories. I also have topped sugar-free cheescake with this and its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
When I saw this recipe I just couldn’t pass it up…but after making it I wish I had. There are a couple of old adages that apply here. First, you get out of something what you put into it and, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I arranged my beautiful strawberries in a lovely, concentric pattern in a pretty, white quiche dish. I was fairly confident at this point, thinking this was going to be one, pretty dessert. I mixed up and cooked the pudding/gelatin mixture as the recipe directed, using the indicated cook-and-serve, sugar free pudding, and sugar free gelatin. It was already so thick I had to carefully smear it over the strawberries. At this point, I’m still hoping for the best, but it’s not looking good. The recipe indicates to chill this 4-6 hours. Are you kidding me? An hour later I had it cut and plopped on a dessert plate like a brick. The filling was thick, congealed and rubbery, not pudding-like or custard-like at all. If you can get passed the weird and unbecoming look, color and consistency of this, you won’t be able to get passed the artificial taste or the acrid aftertaste, presumably by an overabundance of “sugar-free stuff.” Whipped cream helped that somewhat, but seriously, should you need to mask the taste of your dessert? I’m reluctantly giving this two stars rather than one only because the whipped cream made it edible. I so wish I could have my beautiful strawberries back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States