No Crust Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Best way to mix all the ingredients in a blender you will have the perfect pie 1 cup of sugar is the best I been making the pie over 20yrs enjoy Bonabotite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
A few things I did differently because I took the advice of other reviewers. Used 3 eggs, all purpose flour and added 3/4 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt to it, used 1 cup of sugar because most coconut has sugar in it. I also didnt have a deep dish pie pan so I used 2 regular ones and made 2 pies out of it. Baked at 350 for 30 minutes and then added a sheet of aluminum foil to prevent burning and baked another 10-15 minutes. No disrespect to Amanda but the directions were kinda vague for someone who hasn't made pies before. My best guess is let them cool after baking and then add whipped topping and stick them in the fridge until cold and then serve. Some extra directions would have helped like if you dont have deep dish pans or how to convert self rising flour etc. I was afraid from other reviewers that it would be soggy. I think thats because you take an egg out. Otherwise it was soft coming out and set up nicely. Reason I gave it a 4 is because I had to alter it quite a bit. Tasted really good with the changes. 1 3/4 cup of sugar would have made it horrible. Unless you really like it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
The flavor is good. I wish I had read the comments about the sugar - I will definitely try it with less sugar next time. I would also bake at a higher temp - 350. The pie does seem runny when you pull it out of the oven but it firms up when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was just okay. If you like rice pudding, this has a similar taste only with coconut. The "crust" results from a settling of the flour on the bottom of the pan that does not brown or become crispy or solid at all. Taste was ok. I followed the suggestion of others and only used 3 eggs. Good part was that it was quick, used common ingredients and was easy to make and serve, but I think there are better ways to use up coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Summerpls
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe was easy and very tasty. I did bake it about 10 to 15 minutes longer than suggested and the end result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great! I did advise from all...use 3 eggs, used glass pie plate (sprayed with pam), use 1 cup sugar, bake 40 minutes at 350...wasn't soggy then. Also did in blender, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I only used 1 cup of sugar since the coconut I had was sweetened. Baked @ 350 for 40 minutes. Loved that it turned out with a pudding-like consitency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Just what I was looking for! I did chance one thing and that was I didn't add as much sugar as the recipe calls for! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Too eggy in flavor for me, and also a little soggy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Taste was fine, could have used half the sugar and I had to cook it for an hour and a half - in my convection oven. (An hour and a half. That was not a misprint.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States