No Crust Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marisa Nicholls
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE! This should be called called "NO CRUST COCONUT CUSTARD PIE" as it is definitely "custardy" I rated only 4 stars because of the adjustments I made as per previous reviews. I got almost forgot mine in the oven and browned the top a little more than I would have liked but it didn't ruin it this pie was absolutely delicious! I used a Glass Pie Bakeware sprayed generously with Pam (original), 3 eggs is plenty! I used Sweetned Coconut so scaled back the sugar to 1 cup but just a 1/2 cup of sugar will still satisfy the sweet tooth, used 8oz of coconut just cause I like even numbers lol and blended all in my blender which help to shred down the coconut so it's not stick in your teeth pieces. Baked at 350 now the cooking time will vary because at almost an hour into baking it was still liquidy in the middle yet fully browned on the top my suggestion let it cook until it's the desired brown you want from 50 minutes to an hour let cool and put in fridge for a few hours to set and no worries it will be fully cooked and you will soon be enjoying creamy custardy deliciousness ;-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Nicholls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My mother would make this pie on special(when company came over) occasions and I thought the recipe was lost to the ages until I found it here. I made it the other night (I did add less sugar more coconut) everyone Loved it especially my British boy. Next week when I go to visit my parents I'll make it for them.They will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Best way to mix all the ingredients in a blender you will have the perfect pie 1 cup of sugar is the best I been making the pie over 20yrs enjoy Bonabotite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
A few things I did differently because I took the advice of other reviewers. Used 3 eggs, all purpose flour and added 3/4 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt to it, used 1 cup of sugar because most coconut has sugar in it. I also didnt have a deep dish pie pan so I used 2 regular ones and made 2 pies out of it. Baked at 350 for 30 minutes and then added a sheet of aluminum foil to prevent burning and baked another 10-15 minutes. No disrespect to Amanda but the directions were kinda vague for someone who hasn't made pies before. My best guess is let them cool after baking and then add whipped topping and stick them in the fridge until cold and then serve. Some extra directions would have helped like if you dont have deep dish pans or how to convert self rising flour etc. I was afraid from other reviewers that it would be soggy. I think thats because you take an egg out. Otherwise it was soft coming out and set up nicely. Reason I gave it a 4 is because I had to alter it quite a bit. Tasted really good with the changes. 1 3/4 cup of sugar would have made it horrible. Unless you really like it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
The flavor is good. I wish I had read the comments about the sugar - I will definitely try it with less sugar next time. I would also bake at a higher temp - 350. The pie does seem runny when you pull it out of the oven but it firms up when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was just okay. If you like rice pudding, this has a similar taste only with coconut. The "crust" results from a settling of the flour on the bottom of the pan that does not brown or become crispy or solid at all. Taste was ok. I followed the suggestion of others and only used 3 eggs. Good part was that it was quick, used common ingredients and was easy to make and serve, but I think there are better ways to use up coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Summerpls
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe was easy and very tasty. I did bake it about 10 to 15 minutes longer than suggested and the end result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great! I did advise from all...use 3 eggs, used glass pie plate (sprayed with pam), use 1 cup sugar, bake 40 minutes at 350...wasn't soggy then. Also did in blender, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I only used 1 cup of sugar since the coconut I had was sweetened. Baked @ 350 for 40 minutes. Loved that it turned out with a pudding-like consitency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Just what I was looking for! I did chance one thing and that was I didn't add as much sugar as the recipe calls for! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States