No Cook Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I don't know whether it was the egg white in a carton that I used or the cream of tartar, but it has a very artificial taste to it, and it took absolutely forever to whip this up. Still it did not have the very stiff peaks that I knew it was supposed to have. My granny made boiled icing with a hand cranked mixer and I can't imagine her whipping for so long! Also adding chocolate does not work - had to throw the first batch out, since it would not stiffen. This is for a birthday cake - have a feeling I may scrap it off and go with a butter cream. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Excellent icing. Made it for an angel food cake and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy J
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Excellent! The important thing is to mix it at the highest speed possible without splattering, increasing the speed as it becomes thicker and thicker. It took me about 7 to 8 minutes. Makes a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Just made it today for my daughters birthday cake. It was simple to do with my new Kitchenaid stand mixer. I used their recipe last night to make the cake. Only took a few minutes from start to finish to make the peaks. I mixed the sugar, egg and cream of tartar sauce first like someone else mentioned then added the hot water, (Heated in the microwave then let sit for a bit)and vanilla. Tastes nice. I sprinkled a little cocoa poweder on top because it looked just way too white for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
****seemed to take too long to come to peaks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. My mom used to make this for my birthday cake. It was my favorite as a child! Great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and it did not work out for me very well. I used a standing mixer and mixed for about 8 minutes. I didnt see peaks. It was very difficult to see a thick consistansy. I was dissapointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This frosting is so fluffy and creamy that my whole family eats it from the bowl I frost banana cake with it and it is amazing. I get tired of the buttercream frostings. This is nice and light--perfect for a summer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
didn't care for this at all. I had it in the stand mixer for over half an hour and it was still runny and gritty. I even added more cream of tartar and an extra egg white and it still didn't thicken. finally i added a whole bag of icing sugar to it and now it's thick enough to ice the cupcakes. won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Tasted very much like meringue you would have on a pie. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States