No Commercial Yeast Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
There are thousands of strains of wild yeast floating around in the air. There are some starters that date back hundreds of years! There are sourdough starter clubs that can be found on the internet where they will send you a bit of their starter so that you can have your own supply. This recipe does not explain in detail how to start your starter (so only 3 stars) but flour and water is really all it takes. I had some starter started but my husband thought it was something I accidentally left out and he threw it away. GRR! I'll be trying again real soon though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Actually the directions given are in this recipe are complete. I have a wild starter that I started this exact way (filtered water instead of bottled) over thirty years ago. I use it to make bread in a bread machine and to make sourdough waffles. I've almost lost it a couple of times, but after adding a little more unbleached flour and filtered water it bounces right back. Again, I've kept this strain going for over thirty years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collegedale, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I couldn't get this to work. It separated within a few hours of mixing each time, and never formed bubbles substantially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is my first time trying to start a starter, and it was frothing and bubbling after only 24 hours. I'm very pleased. I'll update when I bake with it after it ages a little. Update: smelled atrocious and I had to throw it out after only 1 feeding. The smell was driving us out of the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I started mine a couple days ago and fed it 2 times a day. It works very well and produces a delicious bread. The best part is, once you get it going, you will not have to start again unless it molds or gets thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My husband has went into a craze of eating sourdough and this recipe seemed so easy. I used both bread flour and all purpose flour to feed my starter and filtered water. It was growing nicely and made some great pancakes so I made some biscuits and then some loaf bread. it is still doing great. Perhaps those who failed used tap water with chlorine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Love your ideas!!! just starting on my sourdough conquest but makes me sad to read "pour some of the starter down the drain" upon feeding this hard to master artform...why not try sharing with neighbors, family, friends first before pouring down the drain literally. Thank you for your tips...can't wait to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BROZZY
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I'm two weeks into starting and I've yielded 2 loves of wonderful tangy bread using the "Sourdough Bread III" recipe from this site. I will admit, I wondered how this was all going after week 1. There didn't seem to be much activity, but after doing a search online, I found a sourdough forum. I was comforted knowing I wasn't the only clueless newbie to sourdough bread. The fact that my second loaf turned out well was also confirmation that things are okay. Make sure to use bottled or filtered water. Chlorine from tap water could stop the chemistry. I started with 1/2 cup each flour and water. 2 cups seemed too much when I would only have time to make bread on the weekend. Now I keep in the fridge and 'feed' once a week. Approximately 12 hours before making bread, I take it out of the fridge, feed, and allow it to reach room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I have this exact starter. I love it. I gave you 3 stars due to you saying throw a cup or two down the drain. #1 throwing it down the drain will eventualy clog your drain. #2 instead of throwing it away make a banana bread of Pancakes waffels or english muffins with it. TIP. Instead of using 2 cups of water and 2 cups of water to start your starter. Use 1/4 cup of water and 1/4 cuo of flour. I keep approximately 1 cup of starter in the fridge at all times and when I feed I take out 1/2 cup and save it till I have enough to use or I will use it as a sponge starter for a recepie. I do not throw it away. If you must throw it away put it in a paper towel and place it in your compost pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
It was hard for me to wait 2 days to use this starter. It did start bubbleing right away. It started to smell sour after about 2 days. After following the sourdough bread lll recipe on this site I put it on the rise. I could see it rise before my eyes! I am dead serious. I was so excited. I decided to feed my starter and put it in the refrigerator. I showed it to my husband so he would not throw it out. I can't wait until tomorrow to see how much more this dough has risen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States