No Bull Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Cheap, fast, easy, filling. Nothing fancy but you can season to your taste. I make them lower sodium because of diet restrictions. They're not bad left overs either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Well... this is a good, basic recipe that can be tailored to your liking. First off- ditch the dried oregano. Unless it's Mexican oregano, and then I guess you can proceed. I used cumin, cayenne pepper, onion powder and a bit of chili powder. Then, I heated the beans separately and kept the salsa (fresh) separate as well. Once the beans were heated, I scooped that onto the tortilla, then added the meat, then the cheese and salsa (also added some sour cream and diced jarred jalapenos). I didn't like the idea of mixing the beans and salsa with the meat. It seems the flavors would all compete with each other and end up just a mushy mess. I thought the end result was just "okay" but the bf really enjoyed them. I might try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
really good comfort food and good for the whole family. easy to spice up a little more for those who need it but calmly flavourful enough to please the pickier eaters. it's a keeper. - serve with spanish rice. it tastes great to have both inside the burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My husband and I loved these! They are SO simple, inexpensive, and yet delicious. I added a little extra salsa to finish off the jar and was glad that I had. It helps the beans not be boring. I also like my burritos to be a little crispy or stiff, so after I rolled them I placed them in a hot pan for a couple minutes (no oil, just heat). Overall they are great and I plan on making them again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I think this is a great no nonsense recipe. Anyone who has eaten at an AUTHENTIC mexican restaurant knows that you will never eat a taco or a burrito made with packaged seasonings that contain over a dozen ingredients that most of us can't even pronounce. That said, you can doctor this up using any ingredients you would like. I added onion & garlic while browning the meat and a 1/2 tsp of cumin, salt & pepper to taste. Once you've made the basic recipe, let your imagination and your pantry be your friend. I've added as someone else suggested some whole black beans, I've used a few whole pintos & some leftover rice. Another time I added a can of green chili peppers and some chopped bell pepper while browning my beef along with the onion & garlic. Experiment with different cheeses, left over chopped chicken, etc. Thank you for a great basic recipe that allows the cook to make it their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Tasty. I used black beans instead of refried because I did not have refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
these were great. i only added sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was a simple and quick recipe to prepare. I added 1/2 lb of mild Italian sausage, a tbs of cumin, 1 tsp cayenne, and used italian seasoning instead of the oregano. With no salsa on hand I used 1/2 cup of of diced tomato, 1/2 cup diced onion and 1/2 water to provide moisture and to blend seasonings after browning the seasoned meat. I placed the rolled burritos in a 9x13" baking dish, smothered them with green enchilada sauce and a cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, covered baking dish with foil and baked at 350% for 20 min. Serve with sour cream. We make burritos often but my wife said these were the best she's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom  Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We made these tonight and used ground turkey instead of beef. Very good recipe and YUM! This will definitely be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
THE BEST BURRITOS!!! and so freaking simple and fast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States