No Bull Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Well... this is a good, basic recipe that can be tailored to your liking. First off- ditch the dried oregano. Unless it's Mexican oregano, and then I guess you can proceed. I used cumin, cayenne pepper, onion powder and a bit of chili powder. Then, I heated the beans separately and kept the salsa (fresh) separate as well. Once the beans were heated, I scooped that onto the tortilla, then added the meat, then the cheese and salsa (also added some sour cream and diced jarred jalapenos). I didn't like the idea of mixing the beans and salsa with the meat. It seems the flavors would all compete with each other and end up just a mushy mess. I thought the end result was just "okay" but the bf really enjoyed them. I might try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
really good comfort food and good for the whole family. easy to spice up a little more for those who need it but calmly flavourful enough to please the pickier eaters. it's a keeper. - serve with spanish rice. it tastes great to have both inside the burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My husband and I loved these! They are SO simple, inexpensive, and yet delicious. I added a little extra salsa to finish off the jar and was glad that I had. It helps the beans not be boring. I also like my burritos to be a little crispy or stiff, so after I rolled them I placed them in a hot pan for a couple minutes (no oil, just heat). Overall they are great and I plan on making them again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I think this is a great no nonsense recipe. Anyone who has eaten at an AUTHENTIC mexican restaurant knows that you will never eat a taco or a burrito made with packaged seasonings that contain over a dozen ingredients that most of us can't even pronounce. That said, you can doctor this up using any ingredients you would like. I added onion & garlic while browning the meat and a 1/2 tsp of cumin, salt & pepper to taste. Once you've made the basic recipe, let your imagination and your pantry be your friend. I've added as someone else suggested some whole black beans, I've used a few whole pintos & some leftover rice. Another time I added a can of green chili peppers and some chopped bell pepper while browning my beef along with the onion & garlic. Experiment with different cheeses, left over chopped chicken, etc. Thank you for a great basic recipe that allows the cook to make it their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Tasty. I used black beans instead of refried because I did not have refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
these were great. i only added sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was a simple and quick recipe to prepare. I added 1/2 lb of mild Italian sausage, a tbs of cumin, 1 tsp cayenne, and used italian seasoning instead of the oregano. With no salsa on hand I used 1/2 cup of of diced tomato, 1/2 cup diced onion and 1/2 water to provide moisture and to blend seasonings after browning the seasoned meat. I placed the rolled burritos in a 9x13" baking dish, smothered them with green enchilada sauce and a cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, covered baking dish with foil and baked at 350% for 20 min. Serve with sour cream. We make burritos often but my wife said these were the best she's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom  Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We made these tonight and used ground turkey instead of beef. Very good recipe and YUM! This will definitely be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
THE BEST BURRITOS!!! and so freaking simple and fast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
definitely "no bull!" quick and easy. great for people who have never heard of or made burritos. you can do endless variations from the basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States