'No Beer Available' Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this for my family one night and served it with a side that is my own haha and I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Off by a long shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I have always made my brats with beer, onions and kraut. I don't know about the ginger ale part but I just discovered the only way I will make brats with beer. Substitute beer for ale and the addition of garlic made brats that my family is still fighting over. I give it 5 stars for the addition of fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Actually the only thing I took from this recipe was adding garlic to my onion while grilling them.. I just broiled the Brats and topped w/ the onion/garlic mix.. Delicious!! I've grilled onions ALL MY LIFE and now its forever changed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
We left out the sauerkraut and used 4C ginger ale and 4C water. After boiling, we grilled the sausage and ate with the onions and garlic, which we carmelized in a frying pan. Yum yum yum. Had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made these for Father's Day since I had gone out that morning to get beer and brats for dinner, forgetting that it was a Sunday which means no beer for sale :/ Came across this recipe and decided why not? I only used about 1 liter of ginger ale and then water. They had a slightly sweet taste to them from the ginger ale which I didn't mind but my son refused to eat them. I left out the sauerkraut since hubby hates it and so I used sauteed onions and peppers. After the brats were done cooking I seared them off in a pan real quick to get the yummy crispness to them. I don't think I would do it again if I was in the same situation but it was worth a try. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This didn't work me me. Better to use beer or perhaps broth with the kraut brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I thought this was pretty tasty. I cut the gingerale in half and added water for the rest since someone said it tasted too much like the gingerale. I put them under the broiler for 5 mins to get the casing crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was a great recipe. I actually did have beer and added 2 liters (6 cans) of beer in place of the ginger ale. I followed everything else exactly. Upper Michiganders who know their bratwurst said they were the best brats they had ever tasted. GO PACK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Didn't much care for this one. The sauerkraut took on the taste of the ginger ale, which wasn't good, and the brats didn't taste all that different than usual. If you try this recipe, I suggest you not put the sauerkraut in the pot with everything else. Think I'll stick to grilling my brats, or braising them in beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States