No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The exact recipe (which I originally followed) wasn't the best for us. However, it did become a great BASE for a no beans chili. In the end, I had to add so many different ingredients that it became a totally different recipe. Thank you for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Not bad! I love beans in my chili so I made this for my family and added my own beans in the end! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
It really could have used some green pepper. I didn't have hot sauce so I added more chili pepper and also red pepper flakes. Great with biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Love the red wine in this recipe. Think it makes all the difference. My recipe was slighty modified since I used ground deer meat - but the main change was that I added two pinches of cinnamon and used a purpose onion. Ate over crushed Saltines with cheese and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this chili for my family in hopes of finding the ultimate chili recipe.... it wasn't what I expected... the vinegar over powers the meat and spices. It wasn't a horrible recipe... I found it tasty, but I don't know that I will be making it again it just didn't win the hearts of my family. If I do I will definitely have to make some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is good. To feed 8 people, I altered it with: 2 pounds of cubed stew meat, 1 1/2 onions, no pepper sauce, Worcester sauce instead of wine vinegar, two 28 oz. cans of crushed tomatoes, 2 14.5 oz cans of chili ready diced tomatoes, and 3 chopped green bell peppers. Everything else was the same. Optional cheese on the side was for sprinkling on top. I served the chili with corn bread muffins from the Dannon yogurt website, as they are the best corn muffins ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
this is great as is, but I use it as a base. Added bell peppers and use fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and salt. Used a little less vinegar, .5 lb. more meat, and splashes of worcestshire, liquid smoke, and cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Loved how this turned out, I did adjust it some based upon other reviews and what I had in my pantry. I gave it 4 stars, because I do adjusting based upon reviews I'd read. I did only use 1/8 cup of the red wine vinegar and 1 tbs of wishishere sauce. Since I had no crushed tomatoes I used 3 10 oz cans of mild rotel tomatoes and ran them through the food processor before adding them in. This was hands down the best chili I've made to date, it beats the mixes by far! It was so simple, I will never again use the box seasonings for chili again! (oh and it's great for Frito Chili Pie too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I was looking for a bean free recipes with lots of flavor. My husband hates beans and it's hard to find a good chili without them. This recipe was just perfect. Lots of flavor and no beans = happy hubby. I did modify a couple of things. I used one more clove of garlic because I just love garlic. I used diced tomatoes with jalepenos instead of crushed. I also used 1/2 lb of ground beef and 1/2 lb of ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I love chili but I hate beans. Simply omitting beans from most recipes results in soupy chili but this was SO yummy. Hubby loves beans but still liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States