No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was the worst tasting chili ever and I love chili. It had an overpowering vinegar taste and even prior to adding the vinegar the spices tasted off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I can agree with earlier reviews about the vinegar content... Way too acidic in the end. Although after a little doctoring (added a can of rotel w/habeneros and a lot more seasonings) it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe! My 11 y/o and 2 y/o love it! I added chopped bell pepper and cilantro. Thanks GINAGINA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made it, loved it. Served it over fritos - Texas style - and everyone gobbled it up. It's super easy to make and would be great on hotdogs or even over rice. My kids couldn't get enough! Thanks Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I did not like this chili at all. It tasted like I was biting into a tomato. It was so strong-I had to put some hot sauce into it to make it less strong. Overall, I thought the tomato taste was very overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
5 stars for taste and simplicity! After 28 years of marriage, I just found out my husband doesn't like beans in his chili! Who knew? Not me! I found this recipe and it was a hit all around. Perfect blend of sweet and spicy. I used ground pork, and instead of red wine vinegar, substituted 1/8 cup each balsamic vinegar and Worcester sauce. Served with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great recipe! For a healthier meal, I used 1/2 # of ground beef and a 1/2 # of ground turkey. Perfect for us diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
DEEEEELICIOUS CHILLI!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I think the red wine vinegar threw it off. Next time, I will try it without the red wine vinegar and I will use tomato sauce instead of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Awesome! I made minor changes. Cooked onion and garlic in olive oil until onion was translucent. Added ground beef and cooked till almost done. Added seasonings, stirred and cooked a bit longer then added balsmic vinegar to taste (not a lot) let that reduce down. Put diced tomatoes and crushed in crock pot with some green chilis. Then when meat was done added that to crock pot. Let simmer on low for several hours. Very delish. A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States