No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great starter recipe and you can add ingredients to suit your taste. My teenager will not eat anything with beans, so that caught my eye immediately. I added a stalk of diced celery, a little brown sugar to combat the acidity of the tomatoes, and I threw in a pinch of mesquite seasoning, just because. It turned out great, and we put it over Fritos and added shredded cheese, sour cream, and chopped red onions. This one's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
No one in the house liked the dish.The dish had too much tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I didn't like this. After letting it simmer, it tasted like nothing more than a very acidic pasta sauce. The red wine vinegar was incredibly strong, so much that even the chili powder couldn't shine through. I had to counter it with beef broth, dark brown sugar, a squeeze of honey, Worcestershire sauce, cinnamon, onion powder, cayenne, and extra chili powder and cumin for it to taste like chili. I cook for a man who does not enjoy food that is ultra spicy but he likes some spice, and before doctoring it up he tested it and felt it was too weak and acidic even for him. In the end, it resembled nothing like the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This chili is amazing and very versatile. I am never buying canned chili again!! I used diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the crushed tomatoes for more flavor. I also used a combination of worcestershire sauce and red wine vinegar to taste, as well as my favorite hot pepper sauce to taste. As suggested by another reviewer, I used a potato masher to get the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowerbomb04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelaH
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very yummy!! I added half worcestershire and half red wine vinegar. Next time I think I'll do all worcestershire, as I think the red wine vinegar made it a little too sweet for our tastes. However, ketchup lovers would love the red wine vinegar taste! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Omg! My husband thought I was crazy: chili without beans? Well, he LOVE, LOVE, LOVED, this chili recipe! I loved it, too. He made me save it and email it to myself. That's how much he liked it, and the funny thing is he doesn't really like chili! We will definitely be cooking this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My boyfriend does not like beans but I love chili so I decided to try this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and my boyfriend and I both agreed it's more like pasta sauce with a bit of spice rather than Chili. As a chili it was terrible which is what I'm rating it for. I may actually make it as my spaghetti sauce next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've made this chili twice and my husband absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was FABULOUS! It's -20 (-4F) and I, thankfully, had all of the ingredients on hand. I especially like the warmth the red wine vinegar added. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollybrynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My whole family loved it. Though it was definatly a little to spicy for us I will be making it again but knocking it down a notch. I also used diced tomatoes instead of crushed, buffalo sauce instead of hot, apple cider vinegar instead of red wine, and added a half pound of sausage. It was amazing thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States