No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I had to add another tsp of cumin, and 1/2 tsp of oregano to get the flavor I wanted. I also food processed it a bit to give it more of a canned chili texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was searching for a chili recipe without beans to satisfy my husbands disdain for any thing "bean". This recipe fit the bill. I accidently tweaked it though by buying whole tomatos instead of crushed ones. It added some bulk to the meal and gave some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe. Although, I am leaving out the vinegar--it was too much and I had to had a lot of sugar to counteract it. But I am trying it without the vinegar and putting in a bit of cocoa and more hot sauce to make up for the vinegar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IamMBB
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This chili was a hit in our house. We made it with fire roasted crushed tomatoes. We served it over lime tortilla chips and topped it with sour cream and shredded sharp cheddar cheese. The chili powder and hot sauce gave it a lovely hint of heat without any real burning spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IamMBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Not a huge bean in chili fan myself. Great recipe, much easier than others on this site (less ingredients) and very tastey. Everyone loved it! The longer I simmerred, the better it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This tasted like beef and chili powder. It needs a lot more flavor. I think it would taste good on a hotdog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
My son's preschool has an annual "hot dogs with dad supper." The only thing left on the sign up sheet was a crock pot of chili so I thought I'd better test this out before I subjected all of those 3 and 4 year olds and their daddies. I made this for about 10 people for dinner. (to go with hot dogs) It got nothing but rave reviews from everyone--young and old. It's not spicy (which is really good for my needs) but had a lot of flavor. My husband said this is the only chili recipe he didn't feel the need to add a bunch of ketchup to. So a success indeed. It will be making its debut at the preschool in a few weeks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family liked the chili, I am from Ohio and we don't believe that beans belong in chili...so I wanted to try your recipe. The only thing we noticed was that it had a bit too much vinegar in it..I think next time I will just reduce that a bit. Overall, really good and really easy to make! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The best chili we've ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I Love It! I substituted diced and whole tomatoes for the crushed tomatoes and mashed them with a potato masher and used 1/4 tsp of garlic powder instead of fresh garlic and it turned out great with ingredients that I had on hand. This recipe is one that I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Daycare Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States