No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I have been looking for a good hot dog chili for a long time and this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Hill Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made this for a houseguest who doesn't eat beans, and he like it a lot! It was very easy to make and tasted just as good as my usual recipe with beans. I used organic Fire Roasted Crushed Tomatoes by Muir Glen that added a nice roasted flavor. We sprinkled cheddar cheese on top and I used the Excellent and Healthy Cornbread recipe from this site to go on the side- also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this for my family since my husband doesnt like beans. It is really good. You might want to omit the hotsauce if you are not into spicy food. Really good flavor and it is for dinner tonight.mmmmm.... My kids like frito boats and this works great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is a very good, basic chili recipe. I made this in the crockpot. The longer the flavors can soak, the better they will be. We actually served this over hot dogs and tator tots. I wouldn't recommend this as a soup chili, not enough flavor, but you can very easily add to it. I prefer no bean chili, unless it is baked beans. This was exactly was I was looking for, a basic chili recipe that we can add what we like into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akakizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This tasted good to all of us. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Great recipe we really loved it. Although I really love chili I have never managed to make one that I like. That is until now. Even better my son liked it and didn't once complain it was to spicy. I love spice and have a hard time figuring out what is not spicy for him. I forgot to add the hot sauce to the chili and it was just right for my children. I can always add some to my own bowl. We do like beans in our chili. I ran out of time to put some beans on to cook and didn't have time to run to the store for some canned beans. So this was perfect for us. The only problem was it didn't make very big serving sizes. Next time I will have to double or triple the recipe so we have enough and maybe enough to take to work the next day. Wonderful recipe. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Yum! Although I did tweak it a little ... Opted for a can of diced tomatoes (undrained), and a can of tomato paste instead of the tomatoes called for in the recipe. I also left out the vinegar, replacing that with 1/4 cup water. I added 1 tsp of salt too, which made it a tad salty ... I'd try 1/2 tsp if I were you. Followed everything else according to the recipe though and it turned out great! Perfect chili for the "anti-bean" crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good recipe as published! I mixed two proteins (ground turkey and turkey sausage) and added cinnamon. A bit more exotic and complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
The only thing I did different was use bulk sausage instead of ground beef, and crushed red pepper flakes since I was out of hot sauce. I was a little turned off at how tangy it was with all of that vinegar at first, but after a few more bites I couldn't stop eating it. I really enjoyed the big tomato "punch" it had. It is great over rice. Thumb up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very good! My boyfriend won't eat beans, so I was in need of a good chili recipe without beans. It was even better the next day, so I think I'll let it simmer even longer next time. I doubled the cumin, added 1/2 c chopped green pepper, and used worcestershire sauce instead of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States