No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Just finished making this, but with many (what I considered to be poor) substitutions and it still came out great! I had to use minced onion instead of fresh, and I used a can of tomato sauce instead of tomatoes and chopped up a few cherry tomatoes I had on hand. I also used the Worchestershire sauce instead of vinegar like someone suggested. We like spicy, so I also added a few Chipotle peppers I needed to use up. It was so easy and tasted great, I didn't even miss the beans! I was really expecting it to turn out badly since I didn't have some of the ingredients it called for, so I'm sure it's even better when you make it correctly! We put it over hot dogs and hamburgers and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Our new favorite! Omitted the vinegar, added water in it's place - and instead of canned tomatoes, used 10 fresh, ripe, peeled & chopped tomatoes. Wow! Talk about delicious! The flavor was so good, we didn't even care that the texture wasn't exactly the same as canned. We didn't even wait to get out the stick blender to process it - we just ate it! I let it simmer on low about an hour in a cast iron deep fryer. I also added 1 T. brown sugar, 2 T. molasses (we like our chili a little sweet) and 1 T. homemade prepared mustard. The recipe is very versatile and forgiving and easily tailored to one's tastes. No more canned chili for this family! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
loved it! I've been looking for a no beans chili and was happy to find this one! Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous! We don't care for beans, so it was great to find a recipe of an old favorite suited for us. I took the advice of other reviewers and only added 1/4 cup of the vinegar. Turned out great. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENI MOORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I have always hated beans in chili, and luckily came across this recipe. I absolutely LOVE it. I followed another reviewer by adding worchester sauce instead of the red wine vinegar only because I didnt have it in the house. Left everything else the same and its perfect! I make this about once a week! My husband, at first, threw a tantrum because the worlds ending "there are no beans in it." But after he tried it, he really liked it as well. Said it was a tiny bit spicy for him, but I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I myself won't eat beans, and I love this recipe. However, I did make a few changes. I use lean ground beef (hardly any grease to drain) and season it with plenty of onions and garlic before I put it in with the other ingredients. I also add green peppers and red onions, the extra veggies add a nice touch in the absence of beans. I also found that it gives the chili a little more flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe to replace Hormel and I have finally found it! So far I have put it on my dogs with mustard and onions, my nachos supreme, as a dip for fritos and I am so excited to do so much more. As always I have made it as written but it the possibilities are endless- jalapenos, green peppers, ground turkey, love it, love it, love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made mine with Hot Mexican Chili Powder. Turned out very well. Will be making this again and again. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Very good! Hearty and no beans! I added extra tbsp of chili powder to make this even more spicy, and also subbed worcestershire sauce instead of vinegar (as someone else did). This looks like spaghetti sauce when you first make it, but after simmering for 1.5 hours it turns into a rich brown color that looks and smells and TASTES like real good chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I'm trying out a no-carb diet and I've been dying for some chili. The no-beans recipe caught my eye. I forgot to pick up the chili powder so I found a mix and added it to the pot. Had to add lots of hot sauce to the mix but it still seemed a little off... Placing a slice of cheese to each bowl made it perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States