No Beans About It - Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Awesome I have been looking for a beanless chili that's a fast week day dinner. Added some Jalapeños to it because I like the spicy but left the rest as is. So good thank you. Added to the recipe box immediately. This will make my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Liversuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My roommates and I love chili. Unfortunately, I am on a low/no-phosphorus diet, which means NO BEANS. So chili was out of the question. So I found this recipe, and I couldn't be happier. This was very filling and flavorful, and went great with some of the roommate's homemade cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I absolutely can't stand the texture of beans, but I love the taste of chili. I entered this chili in a cook-off at church and everyone loved it. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Used many of the suggestions that were made doubled the spices, used Worcester, and threw in a splash of dry red wine. Also fire roasted some jalapeno. Tripled the whole thing it was absolutely amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My "no bean" hubby and kids loved this! It doubled nicely and was great as is! I served with a small buffet of toppings, cheese, onion, sour cream, macaroni noodles etc. For my tastes, I would have added more spice and heat and definitely prefer chili with more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time tonight. Family of six and everyone loved it. Next time I will have double the recipe wasn't quote enough so I had to make angle hair noodles with it so there would be enough for everyone. Little leftovers but not much so next time i will make more so there will be leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very tasty and easy to make (with ingredients I usually have already!) I left out the hot sauce (the chili powder I have is plenty spicy already) and replaced the vinegar with 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, since I don't really like vinegar. Turned out great- I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This review is based on EXACTLY how the recipe was posted. I made last evening on a cold night in Austin while friends were visiting. These meal is very simple and easy to make. All four of us were anxious to see how it turned out. And the three of them were quick to grab spoons and give a shot. I had to check facial expressions for a clear indicator. Immediately I saw one set of eyes slowly go up and into back of head followed by an "OH MY GOD...", then I simply say another set shut and simply heard a low moan with a YUM, and the third persons eyes got big and told everyone.. "Talk to ya later" and simply went to town devouring his bowl of this chili. I then took a spoonful and was instantly impressed from the first bite to the last scrape of my bowl! This recipe has four men who give it 8 thumbs up! Thanks for sharing this delicious homemade chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markeymark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I used diced tomato's since I don't like them and they're easier to pick out and I used ghost pepper instead of regular pepper sauce. I hate vinegar and didn't have any so used worcestire (Spelling?) as someone else suggested. As a chili, is what I rated. But as a meat sauce or put in tortilla's or something then it's great. The taste is great. I'll make it again, but not as a chili. I'll toss some pasta in it or put it in a tortilla. I also added some sharp cheddar cheese afterwards (as I always do with chili) and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I used this recipe as a guide. It was very good ,add tomato sauce not vinegar. I also did it with bean and without and both ways were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States