No Bakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This is an excellent no bake recipe. I do have one issue, though. "Boil no more than 120 seconds." Reading through the reviews it is humorous to see the different opinions on slow boil to rolling boil, and timing from one minute to five minutes. These cookies are basically a boiled fudge with oatmeal added, and anyone who makes candy must take into consideration the weather. On a rainy or humid day, the boiling takes much longer to reach that "soft-ball stage." On a dry day, it might be ready in a minute. It is true the best test is to drop a drip of the boiling mixture in ice water and see if it holds together with the texture of soft caramel. If it spreads or melts into the water, keep boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Followed recipe exactly except used creamy peanut butter because that's what we always buy. Boiled it for 90 seconds after it came to full rolling boil. They set up nicely and taste delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robenicia
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I used 1 cup and a tbsp of sugar because I had regular cocoa not unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I really like these cookies with the slight adjustments I have made (which is my reason for four stars). I use a bit more cocoa (over tbsp more), a bit less vanilla (around half), I add a little salt (quarter tsp) and I use just a little less oatmeal (third cup less). I do not really measure these adjustments but they do make a huge difference. Five stars with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I made this recipe with the proper measurements, but slight variations to the ingredients. For example: I only had Dutch processed cocoa, I used clarified butter (hence unsalted), natural peanutbutter (also minimal salt and did not have crunchy on hand nor the kind that has partially hydrogenated oils). So I'd like to say it turned out with just the right salt to sugar mix, but no such luck. I anticipated it to be a little sweeter and put about a teaspoon of salt, but just want to say the ingredients Will vary the taste and salt content. Hope that helps someone else out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I was disappointed. There was not enough chocolate flavor and WAY too much vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
One of my childhood favorites and now one of my daughters too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Best to have oats, peanut butter and vanilla mixed in kitchen aid before adding hot chocolate mixture. Kitchen aid for mixing made this very easy. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A little too sweet for my tastes. I would cut back on the sugar for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Made these and they turned out okay. Doubled it then accidentally added a quarter cup more butter than supposed too. (whoops, haha) Fixed it with a little bit of extra oats and they were fine. I've used other recipes and can't say this is the best because the oats are a little too hard but it's not the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bakes

See how to make a simple chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal cookie.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No Bake Cookies V

Chocolate oatmeal cookies that don't require oven time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States