No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This has been a classic in my house for years. For those who's cookies didn't harden, try them again. They need to be "dryish" not super gloppy when you put them on the waxed paper. If they are too wet, just add 1/4 cup or so more oats. I always use regular oatmeal, never quick cook as they seem to absorb more moisture and I don't usually have consistency issues. The sugar can be cut back just a bit too, if you find them too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I read the recipe wrong and used rolled oats instead (I'm a beginner!) quick cooking oats but they still turned out nicely. Very yummy and rich--easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipie works perfectly I've tried others and the consistancy never turned out right but these were perfect just like my granny use to make for me. My whole family and all my friends love this recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
its an easy to do recipe but it has a tendency to be too sweet , you kinda get sick of it after a while so controll the sugar and the cocoa and it'll be fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
These were exactly what I was looking for! I substituted old fashioned oats for the quick (if you like them a little chewier), and omitted the nuts and chocolate. If you make them big & wrap them individually, they're just like they sell in all the convenience stores! What a hit, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I love these cookies! Chocolate and peanut butter without the baking - what can be better or easier! I made them for my husband and he thought these were too sweet. My grandmother called these Chocolate Candy cookies when I was growing up. I usually melt the butter in the sugar and milk plus I use 1/4 cup of cocoa. I also add in an optional 1 cup of coconut to mine. That makes them form better. It's hard to let these chill in the fridge, you want to eat them right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
These cookies ended up tasting like mushy gooshy cookie dough. They did not get hard and were way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I used mixed cooking oats and added coconut and they were delicious, needless to say they did not last long in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazelton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is a great recipe. They disappear as fast as I can make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The missing ingredient in these cookies is SALT - that's why they taste too sweet. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, used old fashioned oats, adding another 1/2 cup to make the mixture more dry, and added salt to taste. The salt made a HUGE difference (what cookie recipe do you know of that doesn't have salt added????). I also added raw sunflower seeds. The salted kind would have been even better. For a more chocolate taste, mix in either semi-sweet or dark chocolate morsels after you have mixed in the oatmeal. Instead of dropping by teaspoons full, I rolled them into balls the size of walnuts. I ended up with 36 balls plus a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States