No Bake Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made these for a party; got rave reviews. Used 1 c homemade crunchy PB and 1c skippy low fat. 1c of chocolate chips is a bit on the low side, would probably do 1.25c next time. Note that these are more "crunchy peanut butter bars" than "peanut butter flavored Rice Crispie" bars. When looking for the recipe I was originally imagining the latter, but happy the way these came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My family really liked this recipe & will be making it again soon. I used a mixer to mix the first 3 ingredients. Added the rice cereal then divided that between 2 8X8 pans. I put 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate in one pan & 1 cup of milk chocolate in the other pan. I warmed the knife under hot water before cutting which helped keep the chocolate from breaking. I definitely think you should double the chocolate as I did. As far as which kind, I think that is personal preference. My family was 2 for semi-sweet & 2 for milk. I hope this helps! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
The chocolate hardens and when trying to cut the bars, it cracks and is messy. Then the bars were still squishy hours after being refrigerated. Needless to say, I was disappointed in the recipe, it tastes okay but is really rich in peanut butter and seriously lacks presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
too sweet, lowered the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Very nice and good for gifts when cut into pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made 160 bars for our Boy's and Girl's Club in Memphis. They were crazy over these...adults too! I will make them again, but reduce the peanut butter a bit & add more cereal because they did get pretty gooey when they became room temperature. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Love the addition of the crunchy cereal. It really gives the bars a nice texture. I had to use my hands to get the dough to come together, but then it was easily pressed into the pan, and easily cut into squares. My kids and husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
It isn't pretty but it does taste like Reeces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I had Cocoa Pebbles and margarine on hand so I substituted them in addition to chunky peanut butter. I added vanilla because the mixture seemed too dry but the final product was still crumbly, likely due to the margarine and difference in cereal changing the texture...still delicious as it is hard to make peanut butter and chocolate taste bad together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
A little too sweet for my family's taste - I will make again adjusting the amount of sugar in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I am limited on what I can bake with being on a gluten free diet so I decided to try this one out. Easy ingredients but super hard to stir. I decided to just use my hands to stir the cereal into the peanut butter mixture which works great. A bit on the sweet side but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States