No Bake Lemon Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Wonderful light dessert recipe. Perfect for a summer bbq! Added a little lemon extract. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Great recipe , easy and tastes great!! Was a little confused about the whipping of the evaporated milk until thick and stiff peaks form..was at it for 40 mins to no avail!! I decided to plow ahead despite not getting the desired texture but the cake still tasted great in the end ..thank goodness !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I followed the recipe exactley, It worked great! I had no idea evaporated milk would froth, but it does. I would call it a cream cheese dessert not a cheesecake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This is a nice, simple, and refreshing dessert that is very easy to make. I used whipped topping instead of the evaporated milk-which was faster!Oh-I used lime jello and 2 T of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This recipe is very good, and unbelievably easy to make! I used 5 ounces of fresh whipping cream (35% MF) instead of the evaporated milk, because I couldn't imagine that it would be easy to get firm peaks with the evaporated milk and because of the other reviewer's warnings (Thank you!) I also added the juice from half a lemon for extra flavour, and used light cream cheese. It turned out great (especially for the small amount of effort needed!) Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I have been making this recipe for 30 years. I also add 2 TBSP of fresh lemon juice to the gelatin and hot water. I use a 13oz can of evaporated milk insread of 5oz. I put the evaporated milk into the refrigerator for a couple of hours before making the recipe. I also chill my bowl and beaters in the freezer. I always have stiff peaks. I gently fold the lemon and cream cheese mixture into the stiff evaporated milk. I put mine in a 9 x13 pan. I leave it in the frig overnight. I serve it in squares topped with extra grahmn cracker crumbs and topped with whip cream and a cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
If you want to use this recipe, try swapping out cool whip for the evaporated milk. I could not get the evaporated milk to get firm enough to peak. So, I used the cool whip instead, and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This recipe was good, but I could not get the evaporated milk thick or in "stiff peaks"! What I did instead was to add an egg to the cream cheese mixture and mixed well, poured into the crust and refrigerated for about 3-4 hours. It turned out great......forget that evaporated milk thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I grew up on a recipe very similar to this, and when I tried it - what memories! I did add 2 T. fresh squeezed lemon juice to the gelatin mix before it thickened. This is a recipe that I used to make as a kid. It's easy with a few tricks. To get the canned milk to whip up beautifully, put in the freezer until it's as cold as it can get before freezing. When it's cold you can shake the can and the milk inside will quickly froth up enough to stop sloshing. Use high speed with a good mixer, metal bowl that is previously chilled and a whisk attachment. I cheat and use a chilled plastic bowl and get soft foam that works well. But I used to get stiff peaks when I had a metal bowl. Be sure your canned milk isn't low fat. After beating the cream cheese mixture, throughly mix in the luke-warm to tepid gelatin mixture. THEN fold that into the whipped milk. I'm glad to find this recipe again. It's as good as I remember. My husband and son now love it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREADE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
I never bake but I tried this for my co-workers and they all loved it. No the evaporated milk never got stiff but it still set well and tasted like it said it would, tart and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States