No Bake Lemon Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Just tried this recipe - wonderful! The evaporated milk did not beat to stiff peaks, despite chilling milk, bowl and beaters over night. I could only manage a large, soft foam. Next time I will attempt with a stainless steel bowl instead of the glass bowl that I used. Also I adjusted the base to be gluten free, using G.F. ginger nut biscuits, pecans and melted butter. Was a little disappointed as the G.F. biscuits do not perform as well as ordinary ones. But over all very happy with cheesecake filling and excited to finally have this particular recipe on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I first had this light cheesecake at a family reunion. I requested the recipe and made it a few times. Always pre-chill a glass bowl and beaters so the milk will thicken quickly. Be sure to soften the cream cheese before folding it into the jello and milk mixtures, or you may deflate the air while you're trying to smooth out any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I gave it 4 stars because , I couldn't make it ( I am not allowed to ),however my mom made it .It was delicious YUMMY... P.S. Can you change the name from No Bake Lemon Cheesecake to Bake Lemon Cheesecake because it need's baking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe. It turned out well in the taste however the filling was comparatively hard. I guess it’s because of the amount of gelatin. Since my family has a sweet tooth I had made a fresh strawberry sauce as a topping to go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I can't tell you what pleasant memories this cheesecake brought back to me. This is exactly how my mom made it, 30 some years ago. During a move, the recipe was lost and we haven't had it since. Thank you so very, very much for submitting this so that my family can enjoy it from now on. Best cheesecake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I followed the given recipe pretty much as stated and the filling set up just fine. I did not achieve "stiff peaks" but whipped the milk in a clean bowl until the volume doubled (or more). I creamed the cheese & sugar in a separate bowl, mixed in the milk, and then slowly added the jello mixture. Since I was making this for a picnic, I opted for a 9 X 13 covered Pyrex instead of the springform pan. It worked great. For a topping, I mixed 1 cup boiling water with a package of raspberry Danish Dessert (Junket) and a package of frozen raspberries. Very yummy! Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twizz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
So I made a few changes and I'm not sure if it was my changes that made this dish edible-but-not-amazing, or if this was just an un-amazing to begin with. I used 2 packets [.9oz/each] of sugar-free Raspberry Jello (still just 1 c. water), low-fat cream cheese, and 12 oz Evaporated milk. The evap. milk got stiff peaks quickly (kept can in freezer for 60 minutes along with bowl) but the peaks also fell quickly. By using 12 oz. evap. milk, I essentially DOUBLED the entire recipe and could have filled 2 ready made graham cracker crusts. I topped it with thawed mixed berries with a teeny bit of Splenda added. The texture of the "cake" was odd though it definitely held its shape, and the favorite parts were the crust (store bought) and the berries on top. Edible but not fantastic due to the texture. But my husband liked it just fine, "after the initial shock of first bite." And I'm about to have my second piece. I would eat this at home but would never bring it to a potluck or make it for company (like I did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This cheesecake turned out very smooth, creamy and lemony! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I HAVE THE ANSWER!!! For those of you who couldn't get the chilled regular (not low fat or fat free milk)evaporated milk to form stiff peaks. Mix the milk with your cold beaters. Do not whip up the cream cheese mix first. The cream cheese leaves a residue on the beaters that prevents the milk from forming stiff peaks. Besides the cream cheese mix works just fine with a spoon or wire whisk. Peaks should take no longer than 2 or 3 min on high speed beaters, at the most. If you touch the surface with your finger or a spoon and when you pull away it forms a peak...voila you are done. It's not rocket science people, and the finished product is ab fab. For those of you looking for an easy way to soften your cream cheese....while it is still in the foil package...place it on the burner on the stove top that your oven vents through. While your crust is baking the cream cheese is now soft and creamy enough to not need beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I'm not giving this a '3' rating because I changed some of the ingredients. As others suggested I used whipped topping instead of whipping up heavy cream myself. I don't know if this is what caused it, but my pie never set. I ended up having to put it in the freezer for a bit so that it was hard enough to keep its shape when cut. I did add some lemon juice, because it seemed to need it. Used an 8 inch pie crust instead of making my own. This was pretty tasty, but I probably won't make it again because it runs such a high risk of not turning out right, even when directions are followed to a 't'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States