No Bake Lemon Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I'm not giving this a '3' rating because I changed some of the ingredients. As others suggested I used whipped topping instead of whipping up heavy cream myself. I don't know if this is what caused it, but my pie never set. I ended up having to put it in the freezer for a bit so that it was hard enough to keep its shape when cut. I did add some lemon juice, because it seemed to need it. Used an 8 inch pie crust instead of making my own. This was pretty tasty, but I probably won't make it again because it runs such a high risk of not turning out right, even when directions are followed to a 't'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
very easy recipe ... u really don't HAVE to add extra lemon juice to get the extra kick! didn't add sugar to the crackers (i used digestive biscuits) and instead of 1 cup sugar, i used 3/4 cup and it was sweet enuff. i did chill the evaporated milk, bowl and beaters and on whisking i had stiff peaks within 3 min. all in all perfect, light cheesecake ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was okay. It never did set up perfectly, even over night. I think this was do to the evaporated milk. I got it to form peaks by chilling it AND the bowl I whipped it in but it deflated very quickly. I suggest using whipped topping instead as other people have suggested. Also, I would then decrease the amount of sugar in the recipe to counterbalance the sweetness of the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
i made this for my dad and his girlfriend for looking after my daughter for a few days. he said it was fantastic and said i can make it any time for him. my dads quite picky with sweet things! i read the reviews and made a couple of changes based on others' suggestions though. i used heavy cream rather than evaporated milk as i was worried about it not peaking, you cant buy lemon gelatine in the uk so i used leaf gelatine and jif lemon (fresh squeezed bottled lemon). also you cant buy graham crackers here so i used swetmeal digestive biscuits which are pretty much the same thing. it set straight away and impressed greatly. my dad said it tasted better than the one in the shops!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
After reading all of the previous reviews, I decide to follow some of the suggestions. I replaced the evaporated milk with cream and I added lemon juice as we don't have lemon flavoured gelatine in Holland. I also substituted the sugar for sweetener as I need to make the cake diabetic friendly. I tested it out on my work mates who all thought it tasted very nice and was very light. No one complained about the sweetness, although I think I need to add a little more lemon juice as the flavour more cheese than lemon. Given the rave reviews, I'll be making it this weekend as a birthday cake for a friend who loves lemon cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I had been looking for this recipe for a very long time, it reminds me of my mothers from about 40 years ago... Fantastic and a hit with my wife and our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was fabulous! After reading others' comments, I chilled the milk in the fridge for several hours, and the bowl and beaters for about 20 minutes, and used (accidentally) a 12 oz. can of evap. milk. My milk beat up to stiff peaks in a minute or two. I also used strawberry instead of lemon, and served with a few mashed strawberries on top. YUM, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This recipe was awesome!!! The only thing I did different is I added 3 tsps. of pure lemon juice to the recipe and that kicked it off!!!!!!!!! My cheesecakes were the first things to go from the table on Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I just made this tonight, and it turned out great. You definately have to chill the evaporated milk in the can, as well as the bowl and beaters, but I got stiff peaks after about 5 minutes. I didn't have any lemon jello so I used strawberry. It is really yummy. I also used a chocolate cookie crust. It isn't really a cheesecake, but it is a wonderful light and fluffy dessert. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I used to make this all the time then lost the recipe. After reading the reviews try chilling the evaporated milk. I kept a can in the fridge just for this dessert. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States