No Bake Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I made this for Easter...it was a huge hit. I did substitute limeade for the lemon and I used a graham cracker crust..it was wonderful. Yes, you do let the mixture of water, lemonade, jello and creamcheese cool before adding the whipped topping. Mine came out firm right out of the frig....thank you so very much. Everyone loved your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
I'm not sure if I made some kind of mistake...but it didn't indicate to let the lemonade mixture cool before adding the cream cheese and whipped topping. My pie just never seemed to set well, stayed kind of runny. Flavor was pretty good but texture was just not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
I use limeade instead of the lemonade for a very authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I have experience making key lime pie but was looking for a no bake version to try. This recipe was terrible ~ or at least following the directions that were listed. I read in other reviews not to add the whip cream until after it cooled, but of course, didn't read this until it was too late. Mine turned out runny with little lumps and I had to put it in the freezer for it to even firm up. Tasted awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
The flavor of this was great! I read the reviews and let the limeade/jell-o/cream cheese mixture cool completely before adding the Cool Whip, but it still didn't firm up in the refrigerator. I made a few "tester" mini pies and put them in the fridge and freezer at the same time so I could tell/taste when they were ready. The frozen pie was ready in about 2-3 hours, and was a great texture straight out of the freezer. The refrigerated pie sat all day and overnight, and was barely firm enough to hold its shape but was too goopy...kind of like pudding. I liked it with the limeade but would cut back next time on the concentrate because it was pretty tart (my husband and I liked it but like sour sweets). It's still great right out of the freezer, I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This recipe sure left out some steps. You have to cool the jello/limeade mix before adding the cream cheese. I would actually say to use your mixer to whip the softened cream cheese, then gradually add the jello/limeade. I would also leave out at least 4 oz of the limeade concentrate. I'm so mad that I wasted the ingredients. I'm actually going to try to take the filling out and mix in another pkg of cream cheese so that I can eat it, I don't want to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Fabulous! This turned out beautifully. As other people had recommended, I waited to add the cream stuff til it had cooled a bit. Also, I froze it to harden it in time, and it turned out great! Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This flavor on this is amazing - a great tangy kick and super sweet - but when I went to serve it the slices immediately "melted" on the plates! I did allow the mixture to cool before adding the cool whip like a previous poster sugggested, and it stayed in the fridge for several hours before I tried serving it, but I guess that wasn't enough to fix the problem. We tried freezing the pie for an hour, but even then it was still a bit runny. Everyone loved the taste, though - so I guess I'll just have to serve it frozen solid in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I haven't tried making this yet but I think what I would try, given other people's comments and experience with it not setting up: bring the juice, water and gelatin to a boil, then cool that until it is firm. Once the gelatin mixture is firm, then mix in the cream cheese, followed with folding in the whipped topping. I also think I might make it in a graham cracker or cookie crust instead of the traditional pie shell. (Even though I haven't tried it yet, I'm rating it a 4-star for simplicity.) I'll let you know what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahML

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I cooled the jello mix before adding the cool whip. After a couple of hours in fridge, it was still soupy. Also too tart for us. I'm putting in freezer to see if it's better tomorrow. But am afraid I'll end up throwing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States