No-Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These are awesome! We've made them at least 10 different ways, and they are great every time. Our favorite is with craisins, sunflower nuts and chopped almonds. I've also tried substituting almond extract for half of the vanilla, and it was delicious. The possibilities are really endless! I do as another reviewer said and use a piece of wax paper so I can press them down TIGHTLY, and I wait until they are all the way cool to cut them. That way they are less likely to come apart. I store them in a big ziplock and they last about a week before they start getting crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Tasted good, but did not go together as the recipe indicated, first the sugar/peanut butter mixture hardened before I even finished putting it on the cereal so not everything would mix together. Had to add honey just to try and make it manageable. Not sure why you have to let it set for 10 minutes before adding the chocolate, stupid mixture was cool before I even finished mixing it. Very messy, will probably just keep buying granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I used this recipe as a base to imitate some store-brand granola bars that I love. I left out the chocolate chips and peanut butter, and added cranberries and almonds instead. They tasted delicious, but were really stretchy and gooey. They would have been perfect if they had set a little firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The mix won't stick together no matter how much I tried! Frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNLuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
These granola bars turned out soooo good, I will definitely be making these on a regular basis! I added about a 1/2 cup of coconut & instead of adding chocolate chips I added crushed smarties. I personally don't like chunks of chocolate and I had a couple of bags of crushed smarties that I needed to put to good use! Next time I'll add some sunflower seeds too. It was fine to mix until I added the smarties, then it was a little more difficult, but it worked out. A huge bowl helps too! I took the advice of the other reviewers and used folded parchment paper to help flatten the mixture into the pan. I then used my mini rolling pin to make the top nice & smooth. They sliced up really nice too with a really sharp knife. I personally do not like store bought granola bars at all, but these are really good & a nice fast snack too. Everyone loved them, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I brought these to a Bible study and they got rave reviews. I made half with Craisins instead of raisins and left the other half with just mini-chocolate chips. That was a group of happy people. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
These are the best granola bars! I used honey instead of the corn syrup and they turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Flavor is really great! My bars turned out very soft and didn't set up. Any suggestions? I'm thinking about boiling the sugar/syrup mixture a bit longer. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very good and easy to make. Added almonds, dried cranberries and a few peanuts. Cheaper then buying store brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I thought the taste was fantastic I used mini choclate chips and currants, but the bars did not hold together well. They were very crumbly and I wonder if that was why. They were still yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States