No Bake Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
There was no cooking time for the prune mixture so was unsure how long to have in double boiler. The whole thing ended up being delicious but impossible to hold together. I'm sure it had to do with how long it should have been on the stove. Plus, it was incredibly messy to make! Delicious, but not worth the hassle of figuring out how to do cleanly or how to long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Directions for this recipe are incomplete! Cooking time is NOT given and is a very important function of the recipe. As written this recipe will NOT turn out, it is impossible to roll these into balls. Butter, sugar, etc. must be cooked to a firm ball stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
These have been in my family for years and we all (11 of us) love it. Easy to make and always a favourite at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I made these for my family at Christmas and they asked me to make them every year as a special treat. Delicious and freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe was easy to make and was very delicious. Every one wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
this was a nice recipe, i used orange zest instead of vanilla since i had none. could not make it into balls so i sprinkled coconut and walnust at bottom and top and cut into diamonds then placed them in muffin paper cups. looked very pretty with out the mess ! cut it when warm as it solidifies when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmalee
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
love date balls - made a couple of changes though: used 1 stick of margarine, omitted eggs, and the coconut. rolled the balls in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made them this week they were a hit but I changed the recipe a litle instead of rice cereal I used Wheaties and instead of Pecans I used walnuts I have made many copies of this recipe over the last couple of days once you start eating them you can't quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was looking for a no bake recipe to make a quick dessert from all the dates I had just bought and this was perfect. These date balls remind me of Mary Jane candies. Next time I will try this with cashews rather than walnuts! I used pulverize graham crackers because I had no puffed rice, and because I think that vanilla dominates the subtle flavor of the dates I used 2 tbs of Marsala wine (which by the way tastes great just eating dates and sipping the wine). I also left off the coconut and rolled in powdered sugar. I took the advice of another reviewer and used an ice water test to verify what "very thick" was. This stage in cooking just happened to be when my least dominant hand couldn't stir the pot any longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escapechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granby, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
These are yummy. Growing up, we called them dingbats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States