No Bake Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good. I make them every Christmas. I use a little butter on my hands when I roll. It help to keep the mixture from sticking to your hands, plus it keeps your hands from getting to hot when rolling. You do not need a double boiler, but, it will not take 20 minutes if cooked on stove top. As another reviewer said, when thick and the dates are melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a replacement for an "old faithful" recipe that went missing...it is easy, yummy & tastes just like "ol faithful!" Wet hands before rolling so the dates don't stick to your hands & roll easily :) I used vanilla & almond extract in 2 different batches, both yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucy16076
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are great ! I double the recipe. I cook in a normal pot not a double boiler. I stir constantly and consider the mixture cooked when all is well combined and the mix no longer has distinct date pieces (the pencil shapes they were in from the store). I form them in little logs rather than balls. They look much hairier than the photo, maybe those were rolled in powdered sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
A HUGE hit at the Oscar party! A couple people asked for the recipe and they were ALL eaten! Will be making them again this weekend for my mother-in-law's birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a very easy recipe....I made a few changes because I like rum balls and my husband likes date ball I decided to make these as date/rum balls. I added 1 teaspoon of rum extract and since my family does not like coconut I rolled mine in confectioners' sugar. Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orange Beach, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
These are yummy. Growing up, we called them dingbats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was looking for a no bake recipe to make a quick dessert from all the dates I had just bought and this was perfect. These date balls remind me of Mary Jane candies. Next time I will try this with cashews rather than walnuts! I used pulverize graham crackers because I had no puffed rice, and because I think that vanilla dominates the subtle flavor of the dates I used 2 tbs of Marsala wine (which by the way tastes great just eating dates and sipping the wine). I also left off the coconut and rolled in powdered sugar. I took the advice of another reviewer and used an ice water test to verify what "very thick" was. This stage in cooking just happened to be when my least dominant hand couldn't stir the pot any longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escapechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granby, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made them this week they were a hit but I changed the recipe a litle instead of rice cereal I used Wheaties and instead of Pecans I used walnuts I have made many copies of this recipe over the last couple of days once you start eating them you can't quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmalee
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
love date balls - made a couple of changes though: used 1 stick of margarine, omitted eggs, and the coconut. rolled the balls in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
this was a nice recipe, i used orange zest instead of vanilla since i had none. could not make it into balls so i sprinkled coconut and walnust at bottom and top and cut into diamonds then placed them in muffin paper cups. looked very pretty with out the mess ! cut it when warm as it solidifies when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States