No Bake Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
These have been in my family for years and we all (11 of us) love it. Easy to make and always a favourite at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I made these for my family at Christmas and they asked me to make them every year as a special treat. Delicious and freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe was easy to make and was very delicious. Every one wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
this was a nice recipe, i used orange zest instead of vanilla since i had none. could not make it into balls so i sprinkled coconut and walnust at bottom and top and cut into diamonds then placed them in muffin paper cups. looked very pretty with out the mess ! cut it when warm as it solidifies when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made them this week they were a hit but I changed the recipe a litle instead of rice cereal I used Wheaties and instead of Pecans I used walnuts I have made many copies of this recipe over the last couple of days once you start eating them you can't quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was looking for a no bake recipe to make a quick dessert from all the dates I had just bought and this was perfect. These date balls remind me of Mary Jane candies. Next time I will try this with cashews rather than walnuts! I used pulverize graham crackers because I had no puffed rice, and because I think that vanilla dominates the subtle flavor of the dates I used 2 tbs of Marsala wine (which by the way tastes great just eating dates and sipping the wine). I also left off the coconut and rolled in powdered sugar. I took the advice of another reviewer and used an ice water test to verify what "very thick" was. This stage in cooking just happened to be when my least dominant hand couldn't stir the pot any longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escapechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granby, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a very easy recipe....I made a few changes because I like rum balls and my husband likes date ball I decided to make these as date/rum balls. I added 1 teaspoon of rum extract and since my family does not like coconut I rolled mine in confectioners' sugar. Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orange Beach, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
A HUGE hit at the Oscar party! A couple people asked for the recipe and they were ALL eaten! Will be making them again this weekend for my mother-in-law's birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are great ! I double the recipe. I cook in a normal pot not a double boiler. I stir constantly and consider the mixture cooked when all is well combined and the mix no longer has distinct date pieces (the pencil shapes they were in from the store). I form them in little logs rather than balls. They look much hairier than the photo, maybe those were rolled in powdered sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a replacement for an "old faithful" recipe that went missing...it is easy, yummy & tastes just like "ol faithful!" Wet hands before rolling so the dates don't stick to your hands & roll easily :) I used vanilla & almond extract in 2 different batches, both yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucy16076
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States