No-Bake Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I didn’t even bother with the topping, which seemed too rich and heavy for the already rich macaroni and cheese underneath it. I simply used some crushed bakery croutons (I did bake the ramekins at 350 degrees, about 15 minutes, till bubbly and the topping golden). As for the macaroni and cheese, even tho’ I used the 10 ounce ramekins as instructed, I still had nearly a third of it left, beyond what was expected to be contained in the directed number of ramekins. More disappointing was the fact that tho’ the taste wasn’t bad, this was more like a cheese fondue with a little bit of elbow macaroni in it. (see photo in my photo gallery) Half the amount of (expensive) cheese and white sauce would have sufficed. The little bit of macaroni was swimming in an overload of heavy, rich cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I don't this can get any better! It was wonderful and the use of white cheese potato chips is brilliant! Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I used this topping for restaurant style mac and cheese recipe. I used regular kettle style chips and Italian flavored bread crumbs (that was all that I had) and I also used fine shredded mozzarella & Parmesan cheese and I also used salted butter. This topping was so good! I will definitely make this topping again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I NEVER fix Macaroni & Cheese but my grandson wanted some so I made this. I could not stop eating it. Now I remember why I NEVER fix Macaroni & Cheese. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Didn't care for it. Lots of trouble and not nearly enough mac for the amount of sauce. Couldn't taste the cheese. I think I could alter it and make it a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Too much fussing and didn't really appeal to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We weren't fond of the chip topping. I used sharp cheddar kettle chips. The macaroni itself was very good, but the whole process was pretty labor intensive. It's still just macaroni and cheese. If I bothered to make it again I would just use a regular crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It's a very good recipe. It's hard to find the white cheddar potato chips, but using regular chips makes a delicious and crispy topping that we could not stop eating! Definitely a winner for how creamy it is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ballet4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The problem of not enough pasta in too much cheese sauce: If you watch the video (which is always a good idea), you will note that Chef John states that the recipe given for the cheese sauce is enough for one pound of pasta, but he is making only two servings. He also states that for the two servings, you add just enough of the cheese sauce to incorporate one cup of cooked pasta and save the remainder of the sauce for another time. I made the recipe using regular chips but otherwise followed the topping recipe as written. Everyone enjoyed it very much and declared the recipe a "keeper". Won't make it often because of the high caloric count, but it's a great "treat" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was incredibly good AS WRITTEN. Thanks again Chef John for another good recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States