No-Bake Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This recipe was very good but the amount of macaroni, 1 cup uncooked, the recipe calls for must be wrong. With all the white sauce and cheese you have to use more than 1 cup. Maybe it should be 1 pound uncooked elbow macaroni?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The cheese was way to expensive and the taste was horrible. No one in my family liked it. I will never make it again. LisaB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very expensive. An effort to make. Too much bechamel sauce leftover. Dish was bland. Would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The problem of not enough pasta in too much cheese sauce: If you watch the video (which is always a good idea), you will note that Chef John states that the recipe given for the cheese sauce is enough for one pound of pasta, but he is making only two servings. He also states that for the two servings, you add just enough of the cheese sauce to incorporate one cup of cooked pasta and save the remainder of the sauce for another time. I made the recipe using regular chips but otherwise followed the topping recipe as written. Everyone enjoyed it very much and declared the recipe a "keeper". Won't make it often because of the high caloric count, but it's a great "treat" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was incredibly good AS WRITTEN. Thanks again Chef John for another good recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Iit was too heavy, too much fat, & the potato chip topping was greasy & awful! Will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I didn’t even bother with the topping, which seemed too rich and heavy for the already rich macaroni and cheese underneath it. I simply used some crushed bakery croutons (I did bake the ramekins at 350 degrees, about 15 minutes, till bubbly and the topping golden). As for the macaroni and cheese, even tho’ I used the 10 ounce ramekins as instructed, I still had nearly a third of it left, beyond what was expected to be contained in the directed number of ramekins. More disappointing was the fact that tho’ the taste wasn’t bad, this was more like a cheese fondue with a little bit of elbow macaroni in it. (see photo in my photo gallery) Half the amount of (expensive) cheese and white sauce would have sufficed. The little bit of macaroni was swimming in an overload of heavy, rich cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I liked the idea of adding the potato chips, but this recipe is a lot of work and turns out dry and boring. However, I will make I will make it again adding cheddar and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very nice contrasting texture to go with the Mac. I use this for more of my gourmet mac n cheese versions with the higher end cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Too much fussing and didn't really appeal to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States