No-Bake Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I NEVER fix Macaroni & Cheese but my grandson wanted some so I made this. I could not stop eating it. Now I remember why I NEVER fix Macaroni & Cheese. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It's a very good recipe. It's hard to find the white cheddar potato chips, but sing regular chips makes a delicious and crispy topping that we could not stop eating! Definitely a winner for how creamy it is too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ballet4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very nice contrasting texture to go with the Mac. I use this for more of my gourmet mac n cheese versions with the higher end cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I don't this can get any better! It was wonderful and the use of white cheese potato chips is brilliant! Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I used this topping for restaurant style mac and cheese recipe. I used regular kettle style chips and Italian flavored bread crumbs (that was all that I had) and I also used fine shredded mozzarella & Parmesan cheese and I also used salted butter. This topping was so good! I will definitely make this topping again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was incredibly good AS WRITTEN. Thanks again Chef John for another good recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The problem of not enough pasta in too much cheese sauce: If you watch the video (which is always a good idea), you will note that Chef John states that the recipe given for the cheese sauce is enough for one pound of pasta, but he is making only two servings. He also states that for the two servings, you add just enough of the cheese sauce to incorporate one cup of cooked pasta and save the remainder of the sauce for another time. I made the recipe using regular chips but otherwise followed the topping recipe as written. Everyone enjoyed it very much and declared the recipe a "keeper". Won't make it often because of the high caloric count, but it's a great "treat" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This recipe was very good but the amount of macaroni, 1 cup uncooked, the recipe calls for must be wrong. With all the white sauce and cheese you have to use more than 1 cup. Maybe it should be 1 pound uncooked elbow macaroni?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I had to make a few adjustments due to what I had on hand. I used regular kettle chips as I did not have white cheddar flavored. Instead of gruyere, I used shredded swiss. I did add a good amount of chopped ham leftover from Christmas dinner. The kids loved it, especially the topping. Husband and I thought the topping was a little odd. I'd try this again without the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We weren't fond of the chip topping. I used sharp cheddar kettle chips. The macaroni itself was very good, but the whole process was pretty labor intensive. It's still just macaroni and cheese. If I bothered to make it again I would just use a regular crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States