No Bake Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
My entire family loves these cookies. My family begs for them! I would suggest using 4 TBsp of cocoa, butter rather than margarine, smooth PB and 3 1/2 cups of oats. Small changes but they make a world of difference. I have tried every which way and this is the best. If you do it just right, they set up in about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I've been having issues with these not turning out too! I have a different version of "rolling boil" every time I do it. According to the blog All in Good Food he decreases the sugar to 1 and 3/4 cup *this effects the sugar concentration* and brings to 230 degrees F under med-high heat. Just like fudge, if it's raining or humid, you will need to boil a bit longer (but not above max soft ball stage) so the cookie will suck moisture out of the air. Have all your ingredients pre-measured b/c this moves fast after removing from heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
646 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
The perfect no-bake flavor. I used creamy peanut butter instead of chunky, and if you do that I suggest adding a bit more oats, as they'll be kind of thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
These turned out absolutely perfect! Don't be afraid to use whole oats if you don't have quick oats....doesn't make a difference. I made it EXACTLY as stated. I have made no bakes in the past and had them either set up to fast, or never set up. I would say the directions to this recipe are perfectly on target!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These were a hit and easy to make! I used splenda, skim milk, light peanut butter, and light margarine, and they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chevellechick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
These are just like I remember as a kid. Sometimes I just throw them into a 9x13 pan instead of drop by teaspoon. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I give this five stars because they came out exactly as they were meant to. Following the advice of other posters I doubled the cocoa (used good quality cocoa), used creamy PB, and even reduced the butter a bit. Boiled for about 90 seconds. They set up perfectly and were ready to eat in LESS than an hour. I love making these when I need a quicky fudgey chocolate fix. Oh forgot... I used 2 1/2 cups of oats and 1 cup of coconut. I think it would be good with just the 3 cups of oats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe is messed up. I went digging in my closet to find my orginal no-bake cookie recipe. When I compared the two recipes, I found that they had the same ingredients; however, the ratios and the cooking processes were different. The oatmeal has to be added before the peanut butter because the peanut butter cools the mixture down. If you don't, your oatmeal stays firm. The desired texture for these cookies is a slighty softened oatmeal. I would look for another recipe if you prefer a more original style no-bake cookie. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bdailey4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I love this recipe because it has more cocoa than other ones. It has 1/4 c instead of 2 tablespoons. This made a huge difference in the turn out. They turned out more rich and not so dried out as those recipes that call for only 2 tablespoons. My family loves these cookies, and everytime I make them I come right back to this exact recipe to make sure I make them the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the best No Bake Cookie Recipe I've found. Have made it with both chunky and creamy peanut butter and we like it both ways. I set my kitchen timer to one minute after the mix has started boiling and have never had a problem with them setting up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States