No Bake Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
A little addition to the timing debate--I still have my mother's recipe from 30 years ago and it stresses that you need to bring this recipe to a ROLLING BOIL and then time your minute. If you begin timing when the recipe "just boils" you won't get the same texture or set. Once you hit a full, rolling boil, time for one minute. It's never failed me. There are a few variations on this recipe, but this one is probably my favorite. I prefer the texture you get when you add the peanut butter after removing from heat as opposed to boiling it with the sugar, etc. I also prefer the cocoa added in the beginning, but other good recipes call for it at the end. Different strokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1810 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
This is an old familiar favorite of mine since childhood. However, we called them Grandma's "Boiled Cookies," simply because she boiled them on the stovetop. My Grandmother used the exact same ingredients and exact same amounts. However, boiling time is crucial and essential. We add the Peanut Butter with the other ingredients to boil (milk, butter/oleo, sugar, cocoa, salt) and bring the mixture to a hard boil over a medium flame(roughly, 4 - 5 minutes from beginning to boil). We were too poor to afford a candy thermometer, I suppose. THIS IS WHERE GRANDMA TOLD ME THAT THE TEXTURE PROBLEM LIES - " ... Too little boiling time, runny/wet & unable to set properly (because the mix did not reach high enough temperature to become the confection); while too much time produced dry & crumbly cookies (result of too hot too long, burning off moisture)." Also, I choose to use Super Chunky peanut butter for more peanut texture and Grandma is probably rolling in her grave, but it defintely works for me! Then, after we remove the boiling mixture from the flame and stir in the vanilla and quick oats (one-minute), spooning out mixture onto wax-paper lined cookie sheets. Also, I've noticed that if I use baking/cooling racks, these tend to cool and set a little more rapidly. So, if you're like me and can't wait ... I've never had a soft batch. They're definitely one of my all-time favorites. Not to mention the favorites of any guests and all of my neices and nephews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Coop Jr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I have made these no-bakes many times successfully. I always boil for about 2 minutes (candy thermometer reads about 210-120 which is above jelly stage but below thread stage). I find that I have enough time to drop all the cookies without them getting hard, but they will start to jell near the end. Have ready a couple of cookie sheets lined with wax paper so that you can drop them all without any hardening. Another tip: make sure peanut butter and oats are measured and ready to go once your timer goes off at 2 minutes. The final product is shiny and chewy but no where near gooey. And yes, they are sweet, but they are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I love these cookies, but I'm too lazy to use the stove so I microwave them instead. Put everything but the oats, pb and vanilla in a bowl and cook for 3 1/2 minutes, stir and then cook for 3 1/2 more minutes and stir in the oats and stuff. I've also done it once where I left out the cocoa and microwaved the rest but at the end I added oats and cut up peanut butter cups and they melted beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
The 1 minute boiling time is not long enough for these cookies to harden. I tried this recipe a number of times following the directions exactly, but my cookies are always mush. I found many other recipes for these cookies that say to boil for 2 minutes. I tried this and my cookies turned out much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
LOVE THE QUICKNESS!! We opened a store 4 weeks ago & everyone has been asking for homemade cookies. I tried these thinking no one would really buy them because they are so easy to make anyone can make them. Guess Again!! I have been making 4 batches of these a day & am still running out!! The only thing I noticed about these cookies were the longer you stir the batter the duller looks wise they get. My first batch turned out somewhat shiny looking when set...the second set looked really dry (stirred alot)...dull in color. So don't stir alot! These are the easiest quickest HOT SELLING cookies I have ever made. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
If you like sweet stuff, this is the perfect recipe! As others had suggested I used whole milk, cut sugar back to 1 1/2 cups, and boiled for at least 2 minutes. Unfortunately for my thighs they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These cookies were a smashing success at a recent potluck. People inhaled them and I got several requests for the recipe and a mock proposal of marriage. Instead of using the full two cups of sugar, I followed others' suggestions and only used 1 1/2 cups. Also, I boiled the liquid mixture for 2 minutes instead of 1 and they turned out fine. I even used 1% milk and reduced fat peanut butter and still everyone loved them. A recipe I'll definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This is a great version of these cookies. Make these a lot, but could not find such a good recipe. The only change I made, was that I cooked them for exactly 3 1/2 minutes once the mixture started boiling and they always turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Thanks everyone for suggesting 3 minutes--they turned out perfectly. For anyone who likes them a little less sweet like I do, I put 1 1/3 cups sugar and they were perfect! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States