No Bake Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I wanted to make these cookies but I couldn't get in touch with my mom for the recipe. This is exactly how I remember them growing up. A few tips for people who said these were a gooey mess or very crumbly: When ever you heat Sugar, you are using the science of candy making, which allows for the heating of sugar to very particular temperatures, and since many stoves very in temperature, relying on 1 minute of boiling may not work for everyone so try this: Remember the stages of sugar making Thread: 230-235 (This will make a syrup) Soft Ball: 335-240 (This is the stage we will concentrate on for making these cookies) firm ball: 245-250 hard ball 250- 265 Soft crack- 270-290 hard crack- 300-310 For this particular recipe, after 1 minute of boiling, get a cup of cold water and drop a small spoon full of the syrup into the batter. If it forms a small, soft ball in the water, take it off the heat. If it creates a stringy thread, it's not done yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I boil this for 6 minutes - I also use 5 tbsp cocoa. If it starts to get crumbly, stir in a teaspoon or two of hot water and they should set up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This is an excellent recipe, especially if you are not a peanut butter lover. My family loves the cocoa taste! It is very easy to make. The key to making it great is to remember to let the mixture come to a boil and THEN boil it for one minute longer. Great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This is the worst recipe I have ever used. I made it twice thinking I did something wrong the first time. The cookies don't set up at all. We couldn't even eat them because I had to spoon them off the wax paper. Finally, I threw them in the trash...TWICE! Horrible cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I LOVE this recipe and have been making it since high school. It is so easy and the dirty dishes are minimal. I make just a couple of small changes. I boil the cocoa powder with the sugar, milk and butter. I also add 1 cup of peanut butter and reduce the amount of oatmeal to 2 1/2 cups. The cookies have a smoother texture and appearance with less oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
So Good, and ready in less than 15 minutes if you put the cookie sheet in the freezer. I would recommend spraying the wax paper with non stick spray before dropping the cookies on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamar, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I used splenda instead of the sugar and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I love no-bake cookies, but since I'm allergic to peanuts, it's difficult to find a recipe that works. This one is great though. I'd suggest cooking it 2 minutes after it starts boiling though or the cookies tend to be super sticky and don't taste as good. Otherwise, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Great alternative to the no bakes with peanut butter. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
humm, i am a spice lover so i add 1 teaspoon on ground cardamum but would be good with cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves ginger...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States