No Bake Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Reminds me of cookies my Mom and I made when I was a little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
The "batter" was very thin, and I had to put them in the refrigerator because they would not firm up. They tasted good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I would say a pretty good recipe. However, I would suggest that you add more cocoa powder. They weren't chocolaty enough for me. Also should boil syrup for two minutes instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I use the can milk, and a good dollop of Peanut Butter. Pecans are optional as well. They are delicious. And crowd pleasers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sray1953

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These came out great the third time I tried. Nothing wrong with the recipe but it took a bit to get the boiling part down. Other than that a great recipe. I added peanut butter to half and it was still good. I love letting my nieces and nephews make this with me when they come over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissMeghan
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I modified this a little, Using evaporated milk, and scaling it to make 12 cookies. I pressed it flat in a pan, and promptly put it in the freezer to set. It was yummy, even still warm!! Oh, and I also melted a handful of chocolate chips and threw those into the mixture that I put over my oats. It was very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeghan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
YUMMMY!! Just like mama made growing up! I am sooo happy right now. =) I didn't have quite 2c of white sugar so added a bit of brown and extra cocoa because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
no peanut butter that is good. but see these cookie are generally tooo soft. so i add a minute well now to hard and crumbled. no matter which receipe i use its too soft or too hard. and i would NEVER use instant oatmeal. i dont want to die. so if u are going to eat oatmeal you mizwell eat real oatmeal. makes no difference in cooking making. Florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I am not sure about this recipe. I remember making these I was a young child, and when I tasted them, they did not bring back memories. I probably will not make these again! Maybe it is because I used Splenda instead of sugar. This is due to the fact that I am diabetic. I also used Hersheys Special Dark 100% cocoa, butter, and vanilla that I paid $25 a bottle for. There just seemed to be something missing. Or maybe as I have gotten older, I am missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
OK, a couple of observations - If you are wondering about this recipe, it is worth your time to refer to the review on "Dec. 23, 2009 by nicks_sister" - but to summarize - for this recipe to work, you want the temperature of the sugar to get to 235-240 degrees F. Too hot and they will get crumbly, not hot enough and they will never set up (I have actually eaten these with a spoon in the past - before the science part kicked in). The big mistake I've made in the past is that I was afraid to let the sugar mixture really 'boil' - I figured 'back the temp down so the boil is not violent' - WRONG! It has to get hot enough. One minute... Six minutes... doesn't matter - get the temp to the right range and it will work. See the referenced review for 'how to tell without a candy thermometer'. Outside of this critical piece, this is one of the easiest recipes you'll ever use. They are exactly what I remember as a child, and what I have loved forever. the peanut butter versions are good too, but this is the one. There is a lot of room for frustration with these cookies, but all of that rests on that one specific detail. I Love these Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States