No Bake Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This is a great recipe for the old favorite! The only thing I did differently was add about 1/4 c more peanut butter (and I use creamy style) and also 1/2-3/4 c coconut just for extra flavor. Meanwhile A TIP for those that complained about the texture...it's all about the boiling time. If you underboil you will get cookies that won't set, if you overboil, you will get cookies that will crumble and not form at all. This recipe calls for 1 1/2 minutes. My suggestion for the perfect cookie is to time it from a FULL boil and do 1 1/2 minutes from that point. If you count from a simmer (just barely bubbling) then make it 2 - 2 1/2 mins tops! You will have to play with it to see how your stove heat, etc. Hope that helps!! Good cookies tho!! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2929 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Great texture, so easy and quick to make! After many no-bake failures, I've learned that you have to use 1-minute quick oats, and that it is SOOOO important to have all of the ingredients ready and to have the wax paper prepared on the counter. Once you turn on the stove there isn't much time to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
My family and friends love this cookies. I do have problems with them setting. The last time I made them, I used a candy thermometer to make sure that I boiled them long enough. I had to boil the mixture about 2.5 minutes for the temperature to reach the soft ball stage. The cookies set perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
853 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citronelle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I lost my recipe for no-bakes and this one looked familiar. But alas when you know what you are looking for in taste then nothing else will do! I made these cookies and immediatedly thought something was wrong. Too runny and shiny. The taste was off too. So I thought real hard and realized I only used 1/4(1/2 stick butter) and the amount of peanut butter(the taste was missing) was wrong. I reinvented this recipe and I think I have my old one back. I reduced the cocoa to 3 Tbsp., the sugar to 2 C.(because I remember that much about old recipe) and the peanut butter to 1 Cup (Natural is best). And I think I got my old recipe back. Thank-you Denise for the basic ingredients but the quantities had to be modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kath
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I just made this recipe...I did add a slight amount more oatmeal than called for because it seemed like it should have been a little thicker. Also, I added the vanilla into the wet stuff way before adding the PB and oats. Also--I didn't time it. Apparently people have a very difficult time with this step--I have no idea why! I brought it to a rolling boil, stirred it a little, and then took it off the heat after I thought a couple minutes passed. I am sure I cooked it longer than the 90 seconds posted. Lastly, I stirred in the PB after turning the heat off and stirred the PB to let it completely melt before adding the oats. After dropping on wax paper, I waited an hour, and they were PERFECT!! DEEEEEELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is one of the old favorites. The key is to boil exactly one minute from the time it hits a rolling boil, then remove from the heat and to stir constantly while it boils. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
These are awsome!!! The nice thing is that I had everything for them already in my kitchen!! I made these EXACTLY by the recipe and they turned out perfectly. Just a hint: once you drop them onto the wax paper, go back and "push" each one together so that you end up with less little crumblies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I made this recipes twice following the directions and ingredients exactly and they turned out crunmbly each time. The second time I even decreased the cooking time to 1 minute, and still a crumbly mess. They tasted good, but I hate how they crumble everywhere. I am still looking for a chewy no bake cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were delicious!! I used creamy peanut butter, instead of crunchy. These disappeared fast, and i would make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
For once I was trying desperately to follow this recipe exactly so I could give it a fair rating! Unfortunately, I discovered I didn't have any vanilla extract, so I had to substitute almond extract. I think these were still delicious. They are definitely SWEET. Don't expect otherwise and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States