No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Very quick and easy, made these last night and ate a few within an hour. I think I would use more peanut butter the next time. Followed others and used 3/4 butter rather than 1 cup and it still turned out great..not greasy at all. Great recipe! Thanks Traci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I did the recipe exactly how it is listed and didn't listen to the other reviews...mistake. WAY too much butter. I should have listened! I would cut the butter in half at least. As it was, there was a lot of butter sitting in the pan after scooping the oatmeal out. Will try again with modifications though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANMARBON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Easy and delicious! I did the chocolate butter/peanut butter in the microwave to simplify it, and I made my bottom oatmeal layer a bit thicker than half the batter. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLAMORT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
With the very high amount of butter and peanut butter for such a small recipe I almost didn't make these. So I thought up a modification: replace the butter with the peanut butter. I did 1/2 c peanut butter plus 1/4 c butter instead of the 1 c butter. Then I omitted the peanut butter filling part entirely. Just sprinkled the chocolate chips in, then added the top layer. It was great, and eliminated 3/4 butter (1440 calories total) from the recipe. I would use this recipe as an energy bar. I also read another reviewer who did part rice crispies, so I cooked up 1 1/2 c of oats instead of 3 c (and tossed in 1 T flax seed for good measure), then added 1 1/2 c rice crispies when I turned the heat off, then proceeded as normal. It was really good. Lighter, crunchier and even fewer calories. It sets up much quicker in the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delicious but very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These are good bar cookies, but not fabulous. They can use less butter ( I followed the recipe exactly and there was butter not soaked up by the oats). I agree with others that you can reduce the butter by at least a quarter cup if not a bit more. Also, to make them look like the photo, I think you probably have to make them in an 8x8 (mine were much thinner in a 9x9). At any rate, not sure I'll make them again, but it was worth a try! Addendum: I have to increase this score to 4 stars, all my friends seem to like these very much, so in all fairness, I am giving them more stars than I initially noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
AMAZING. next time I'll make it not soo sweet...I only put a hint of peanut butter since I'm not a big fan and it was soo good. the tiny bit of peanut butter gave the desert a pleasant surprise. first you tasted chocolate then the hint of peanut then chocolate again. YUM. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Excellent! Make these again. Decrease the butter to 3/4 cup for the oatmeal mixture. Use 1 1/4 cups choc chips and 3/4 cup peanut butter for the middle chocolatey mixture. Better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Eh. i followed other's suggestions and used 3/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup PB and they were fine, but nothing special. if you have a craving for PB/chocolate you could just spread some PB on a chocolate bar and get the same effect with fewer calories. the oats do provide some crunch, which is nice, but i don't think this recipe is worth the 10 min it takes to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States