No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by IamMe
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
I used a little less butter but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I'm glad I made them, and they satisfied the husband's dessert craving, but I probably won't make them again. I like sweet things, but these were too sweet. I think it was the brown sugar. It was like wine cooler sweet instead of red wine sweet, if that makes sense. I much prefer the chocolate peanut butter oatmeal "drop cookies" made with cocoa powder to these bars. My husband said "5 stars, I guess" and I would only give them 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
These were excellent. I added vanilla protein powder to the oat mix and used maple syrup as the sweetener. Tasted like marshmallows. I also used almond butter as the hubby doesn't care for peanut butter. They disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelinamarie3
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
These were good and very quick/easy to make, but I agree with other reviews that there is WAY too much butter! They turned out quite greasy and the top is "soggy". They taste great and are very rich, but the butter is overwhelming & messy. My suggestion would be to cut the butter in half. I will say that the bottom turned out well, but the top is really just a greasy pile of oats that falls all over the place when cut. The top would be better with half the amount of butter and some flour & brown (or white) sugar, similar to the topping found on dessert crisp recipes. I will make these again, because they are very quick & easy- and also very rich, so small squares can go a long way! But it needs modifications, because as written, the butter is just too much. I also see others saved some chocolate mixture for a drizzle on top- that may help (and add to the aesthetic appeal)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Very addicting. I reduced the butter to 3/4 c. per another reviewer's notes and it was enough. I used 1/2 butterscotch chips & 1/2 dark chocolate semi-sweet choc chips and it was sooo good. I also used a 9x13 pan (was in default mode by accident) and although thinner, I think it helped create a good size portion. I can't imaging the sugar overdoze if made in a smaller pan. Very yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garrow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
My 11 year old made these. Delicious! However, next time she will try 1/4 c. Less butter and the sugar doesn't need to. Be packed. TFTR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
These are so simple and everyone loved them. I cut out 1/4 cup butter, added extra chocolate chips and peanut butter. Also cooked the oatmeal mixture a bit longer over low heat. I reserved about 1/3 of the chocolate/peanut butter mixture for the top. Chewy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Very nice cookies - crumbly yet moist. Bit plain though, I added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Loved making this type of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Great recipe. I did not use any butter - made prune puree (half cup soft pitted dates and 1 cup warm water in blender and then passed it through a mesh strainer to get smooth liquid) to substitute 1 cup butter. Excellent - could not taste the prunes at all - only yummy oats, pb and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I used a whole bag of chocolate chips. Husband loved it. Tastes like a Reese's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States